Blaser is NAIA Coach of the Year

COLUMBUS, Ohio -Oklahoma City University men’s golf coach Kyle Blaser notched his eighth Dave Williams NAIA coach of the year honor from the Golf Coaches Association of America.

Blaser picked up NAIA Central Region coach of the year. The Williams coach of the year award honorees from all levels of collegiate golf will be recognized during the hall of fame banquet at the GCAA convention Dec. 12.

In 2015-16, Blaser led Oklahoma City to its 10th national championship among six tournament victories. In winning the Sooner Athletic Conference title, the Stars set the program record for shots under par in 54 holes (34) and the SAC Championships scoring record (282-272-276-830). In 10 events, the Stars also picked up two runner-up finishes. OCU’s worst finish was seventh place.

Blaser last took the Williams award in 2013. In 20 seasons as OCU coach, he has amassed 99 tournament wins, 18 conference titles and 10 NAIA men’s golf championships, the most of any coach. Blaser is a member of the GCAA Hall of Fame as well as the NAIA Hall of Fame.

In his time at OCU, Blaser has coached five NAIA individual champions and national players of the year, two NAIA individual runners-up, 75 all-Americans, five four-time all-Americans, two Phil Mickelson award winners as NAIA freshman of the year, 28 NAIA scholar-athlete award winners, six CoSIDA academic all-Americans, six all-Nicklaus selections, six NAIA Region VI champions and players of the year, 12 conference individual champions and 12 SAC players of the year.

Since arriving at Oklahoma City in December 1997, Blaser has guided the Stars to 17 top-10 finishes in the NAIA Championships.


Dave Williams National Coach of the Year Award Presented by Golf Pride Grips

Division I – John Fields, Texas

Division II – Chris Greenwood, Saint Leo

Division III – Bim Jollymour, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps

NAIA – Kyle Blaser, Oklahoma City

NJCAA Division I – Delnor Poss, Midland College

NJCAA Division II – Darin Pint, Kirkwood


Golf Pride Grips Region and District Coaches of the Year


North – Barry Doty, William Woods

South – AJ Broderick, Johnson & Wales (Fla.)

Central – Kyle Blaser, Oklahoma City

West – Chris MacDonald, British Columbia

Facebook Comments

Stay in the know and win free golf, tournament tickets, vacation packages and more!
Golf Oklahoma is the official publication of the Oklahoma Golf Association. Join over 35,000 subscribers receiving our newsletter with breaking news on all aspects of golf in the state. Our subscribers also receive special deals and promotions on equipment and travel as well as annual ticket giveaways to professional golf events.
Your email will not be shared or sold!
Ken MacLeod

Ken MacLeod

Publisher Golf Oklahoma | Oklahoma's No. 1 Golf Source

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *