Cowgirls returning to scene of triumph in Albuquerque Regional

The most efficient way to grow wealth is to beat the market dips, corrections, and crashes. Achieve it all with Equity Investments, Retirement Income, and Estate Plans, from Lifetime Income Store.

STILLWATER – Back in September, the Oklahoma State women’s golf team ran away from eight other top-30 squads to win the Branch Law Firm/Dick McGuire Invitational in Albuquerque, New Mexico with a 20-under 844 – the second-best 54-hole score in program history.

On Monday, the Cowgirls will once again tee off at the UNM Championship Course for the NCAA Albuquerque Regional, and this time there’s a trip to the NCAA National Championships on the line.

OSU is the No. 5 seed at the Albuquerque Regional, which features 13 of the country’s top 50 squads, including No. 1 Stanford, No. 6 Southern California and No. 9 Duke.

The low six teams and the low three individuals not on those teams at each of the four NCAA Regional sites (for a total of 24 teams and 12 individuals) advance to the national championships, which are being hosted by Northern Illinois University at Rich Harvest Farms, in Sugar Grove, Illinois on May 19-24.

The Cowgirls rank 10th nationally with 21 NCAA Championship appearances, and feature a veteran lineup that currently ranks No. 17 by Golfstat and No. 18 by Golfweek. Linnea Johansson is a returning WGCA All-American, while Kenzie Neisen is the two-time defending Big 12 individual champion.

The Event

2017 NCAA Albuquerque Regional
Host: University of New Mexico
Date: May 8-10, 2017
Site / Course: Albuquerque, New Mexico / UNM Championship Course
Par / Yardage: 72 / 6,611
Format: stroke play, 3 rounds of 18 holes (top 6 teams & 3 individuals advance)
Live Scoring:
Event History: OSU’s 25th appearance (every regional since format change)


The Field (Golfstat Ranking)
1. Stanford (1)
2. Southern California (6)
3. Duke (9)
4. Miami (16)
5. Oklahoma State (17)
6. North Carolina State (24)
7. California (26)
8. Illinois (32)
9. Pepperdine (36)
10. Washington (40)
11. SMU (41)
12. Campbell (48)
13. Denver (49)
14. New Mexico State (57)
15. Cal Poly (86)
16. Sacramento State (99)
17. Houston Baptist (139)
18. Texas Southern

The Cowgirls
Linnea Johansson  •  2016 WGCA All-American, 3x All-Big 12 Conference selection
Kenzie Neisen  •  2x Big 12 Conference individual champion
Maddie McCrary  •  3x All-Big 12 Conference selection
Chih-Min Chen  •  2016 Big 12 Conference Freshman of the Year
Alexis Sadeghy  •  Academic All-Big 12 selection

Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )
Ken MacLeod

Ken MacLeod

Publisher Golf Oklahoma | Oklahoma's No. 1 Golf Source