Former ORU player Norton takes second in Trans-Miss Senior Championship

DALLAS–Jeff New figures he played in almost 200 Texas Golf Association events during the 38 years he lived in Houston. He never won an individual TGA Championship. He still hasn’t, but you can’t convince New that his three-shot victory at the 2015 Trans-Mississippi Senior Championship doesn’t feel like he broke through for the elusive victory he always wanted. 

Bryan Norton, who played for the 1981 Oral Roberts team that took second in the NCAA Championship and has long been one of the top amateurs in Kansas, placed second, three shots behind.

New used a pair of birdies in the middle of his round to steady himself after two early bogeys. After a bogey and double-bogey on the 11th and 12th holes, New said he dug deep. He finished strong to post a final round 74 and finished at 6-over 219 for the championship. Norton from Mission Hills, took second place at 9-over 222. Houston’s Bob Kearney placed third at 10-over 223.
The Trans-Miss Golf Association extends its most sincere gratitude to Brook Hollow Golf Club, its staff and our volunteers for their hospitality and generosity. The next event on the TMGA schedule is the 112th Trans-Miss Championship, July 6-9 at Flint Hills National in Andover, Kan. Please visit for more information.
16th Trans-Mississippi Senior Championship
Brook Hollow Golf Club
Dallas, Texas
Final Results
Senior Division

Jeff D New, Scottsdale, Ariz. – 69-76-74–219
Bryan Norton, Mission Hills, Kan. – 76-73-73–222
Bob Kearney, Houston, Texas – 74-74-75–223
Chuck Palmer, Dallas, Texas – 77-74-73–224
Murphy Mitchell, Scottsdale, Ariz. – 71-76-77–224
George Zahringer, New York, N.Y. – 76-73-76–225
John Grace, Fort Worth, Texas – 79-74-72–225
Lee Sandlin, Dallas, Texas – 75-74-77–226
Mike Peck, Irving, Texas – 74-74-79–227
Wayne Wright, Aledo, Texas – 79-70-78–227
Jack Slayton, Albuquerque, N.M. – 73-78-77–228
Jim Lehman, Plymouth, Minn. – 74-76-78–228
Jimmy Burke, Houston, Texas – 75-75-79–229
Bob Baker, Little Rock, Ark. – 75-78-78–231
Malcolm Holland, Dallas, Texas – 78-78-75–231
Marshall Morgan, Odessa, Texas – 77-77-77–231
Billy McBee III, Dallas, Texas – 78-79-76–233
Doug Hopton-Jones, Mansfield, Texas – 77-77-79–233
Eddie Lyons, Shreveport, La. – 79-78-76–233
Hunter Nelson, Houston, Texas – 76-81-77–234
Larry Nunez, Austin, Texas – 79-78-77–234
Todd Palmaer, Corona Del Mar, Calif. – 75-75-84–234
Ed Turner, Richardson, Texas – 79-77-79–235
Ralph Ellis, Amarillo, Texas – 81-77-78–236
Ramiro Romo, Burlington, Wis. – 79-79-80–238
Steve Bell, Denver, Colo. – 83-78-77–238
Michael F Zarcaro, Houston, Texas – 82-77-80–239
John Hull, Scottsdale, Ariz. – 77-80-83–240
Mike Gustafson, Eugene, Ore. – 78-80-82–240
Bob Bret, Dallas, Texas – 82-80-79–241
Bob Neal, Mansfield, Texas – 74-84-83–241
Brent Cooper, Dallas, Texas – 83-77-81–241
Gary Singer, Newport Beach, Calif. – 84-79-78–241
John Juntilla, Spring Park, Minn. – 83-78-80–241
Lawrence Field, Tulsa, Okla. – 79-82-80–241
Kip Estep, Rockwall, Texas – 79-85-78–242
Tim Andersen, Chaska, Minn. – 87-79-79–245
Brad Forrester, La Quinta, Calif. – 78-85-83–246
Hal Wright, Shreveport, La. – 83-83-80–246
Cyrus Whitney, Oro Valley, Ariz. – 86-78-83–247
Bill Huckin, Dallas, Texas – 82-82-84–248
John Tatum, Dallas, Texas – 81-78-89–248
Les Devitt, Scottsdale, Ariz. – 85-76-87–248
Tom Nielsen, Edmond, Okla. – 83-83-82–248
Randy Vautravers, Andover, Kan. – 80-82-88–250
Mac McGee, Midland, Texas – 85-80-87–252
Pat Manning, Irving, Texas – 84-82-87–253
Steve Thompson, Odessa, Texas – 83-82-88–253
Dale White Jr., Ft. Worth, Texas – 82-85-88–255
Herb Fisher, The Woodlands, Texas – 89-83-83–255
Tom Melcher, Mansfield, Texas – 87-90-89–266
Charlton Holmes, Dallas , Texas – 87-92-94–273
Bill Jackson, Oklahoma City, Okla. – 79-80-WD–WD
Corliss Nelson, Dallas, Texas – 84-79-WD–WD
Dan Carroll, La Quinta, Calif. – 83-80-WD–WD
George Adams, Houston, Texas – 86-91-WD–WD
Jay Pumphrey, Georgetown, Texas – 81-79-WD–WD
Jody Vasquez, Aledo, Texas – 84-80-WD–WD
Michael Pierce, Houston, Texas – 79-81-WD–WD
Mike Morgan, Shreveport , La. – 82-85-WD–WD
Peter Dahlberg, Fort Worth, Texas – 91-84-WD–WD
Rick Doggett, Fort Worth, Texas – 85-82-WD–WD
Steve McKinney, Wichita, Kan. – 85-87-WD–WD
Trip Long, Wichita Falls, Texas – 75-79-WD–WD
William Hamilton, Indio, Calif. – 88-78-WD–WD
Steve Creekmore III, Ft. Smith, Ark. – 88-WD
Bob Walley, Los Lunas, N.M. – DQ
Daniel Cook, The Woodlands, Texas – DQ
John Goode, Killeen, Texas – WD
Robert McDonald III, Austin, Texas – WD
Super Senior Division
Chris Maletis, Portland, Ore. – 79-72-70–221
Frank Brame, Alexandria, La. – 72-77-79–228
Denny Alexander, Fort Worth, Texas – 75-77-77–229
Richard Hubbard, Scottsdale, Ariz. – 77-76-78–231
David Moore, Marana, Ariz. – 81-79-78–238
Mickey McDonald, Shreveport, La. – 76-82-80–238
Michael Arnold, San Antonio, Texas – 81-77-81–239
Chris Larsen, Houston, Texas – 79-85-77–241
Pat Hare, Fort Worth, Texas – 83-78-81–242
Greg Lynn, Edmond, Okla. – 79-79-87–245
James Saivar, San Diego, Calif. – 78-85-83–246
Sam Boyd, Kemah, Texas – 84-82-80–246
John Richart, Ann Arbor, Mich. – 92-79-78–249
Larry Walsh, Mountain City, Texas – 83-85-81–249
Don Addington, Dallas, Texas – 84-81-85–250
Martin Park, Wichita, Kan. – 86-83-83–252
Bruce Stensrud, Dallas, Texas – 83-87-86–256
Gary Miles, Clyde, Calif. – 81-89-89–259
Gordon Pracko, Carefree, Ariz. – 88-82-90–260
Jerry Ransom, Greenville, Texas – 90-91-95–276
Bob Vidricksen, Salina, Kan. – 76-85-WD–WD
Clint Nelson, Fargo, N.D. – 81-85-WD–WD
Craig Carlisle, Trophy Club, Texas – 90-80-DQ–DQ
Don Berthiaume, Littleton, Colo. – 93-90-DQ–DQ
Doug Baker, Austin, Texas – 84-77-WD–WD
Jerry Hutton, Long Beach, Calif. – 81-82-WD–WD
Joe Connolly, Pacific Palisdes, Calif. – 87-80-WD–WD
Paul Shimoff, Redlands, Calif. – 81-83-WD–WD
Robert E Lloyd, Plano, Texas – 88-89-DQ–DQ
Gary Kirwan, McKinney, Texas – 79-WD
Legends Division
Jim Martin, Dallas, Texas – 81-73–154
Christie Flanagan, Dallas, Texas – 83-80–163
Jerry Cundari, Portland, Ore. – 84-79–163
Phil Lobstein, Fort Worth, Texas – 87-86–173
Marshall Gleason, Tucson, Ariz. – 92-87–179
Bob Twaddell, Houston, Texas – 90-91–181
Herb Durham, Dallas, Texas – 95-87–182
Bill Gribble, Dallas, Texas – 95-91–186
Bill McDonald, Topeka, Kan. – WD
Travis Thomson, Dallas, Texas – DQ
# TMGA #

Facebook Comments
Stay in the know and win free golf, tournament tickets, vacation packages and more!
Golf Oklahoma is the official publication of the Oklahoma Golf Association. Join over 35,000 subscribers receiving our newsletter with breaking news on all aspects of golf in the state. Our subscribers also receive special deals and promotions on equipment and travel as well as annual ticket giveaways to professional golf events.
Your email will not be shared or sold!
Ken MacLeod

Ken MacLeod

Golf Oklahoma |
Oklahoma’s No. 1 Golf Source

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *