Goodin is first repeat winner of Jim Wade Award as athlete of the year at OCU

The most efficient way to grow wealth is to beat the market dips, corrections, and crashes. Achieve it all with Equity Investments, Retirement Income, and Estate Plans, from Lifetime Income Store.

OKLAHOMA CITY – Oklahoma City University recognized Terence Bonhomme as its male student-athlete of the year, while Caroline Goodin garnered the female athlete of the year for the second consecutive year in the 2016-17 Jim Wade Awards on Sunday at the Bishop W. Angie Smith Chapel.

Goodin became the first Star honored as the female Jim Wade Award winner twice. OCU’s cheerleading team took acclaim as the team of character among several honorees Sunday.

Jim Wade Award winners annually get chosen by OCU’s athletic department as those who best represent the Stars both on and off the field of competition and reflect the spirit of the award’s namesake, Gen. Jim Wade.

Bonhomme, a junior men’s basketball player from St. Martinville, La., aided OCU to its first 20-win season and highest ranking (fifth) since 2008 as well as its third consecutive NAIA Division I Tournament appearance in 2016-17.

Goodin, a senior golfer from Oklahoma City, has led the Stars to their sixth consecutive SAC championship, four victories and the No. 3 ranking in the NAIA this season. Goodin is a two-time first-team all-American, three-time all-conference performer, two-time academic all-SAC choice, second-team CoSIDA academic all-American, academic all-district, NAIA scholar-athlete, NAIA Championships all-tournament, 2016 SAC individual champion and four-time SAC golfer of the week.

She was a founding member of the NAIA’s Association of Student-Athletes representing the SAC. Goodin boasts of a 3.945 cumulative grade-point average working towards an accounting degree.

Wade is a former OCU baseball, basketball and football player and OCU Athletic Hall of Famer. Wade was a general in the U.S. Air Force who was decorated for service in the Korean War. OCU’s baseball field, athletic office suites and soccer press box bear his name.
Jim Wade Award Winners
2006–Jeff McLaughlin, baseball
2007–Kameron Gray, men’s basketball
2008–Kameron Gray, men’s basketball
2009–Brandon Hull, men’s soccer
2010–Ben Bench, men’s golf
2011–Chad Carman, baseball
2012–Chad Carman, baseball
2013–Charlton Jones, men’s basketball
2014–Mark Anderson, men’s golf
2015–Ryan Wright, baseball
2016–Hunter Marcum, baseball
2017–Terence Bonhomme, men’s basketball
2006–Randi Scheer, softball
2007–Roxie Luegge, women’s rowing
2008–Viola Beybeyah, women’s basketball
2009–Mindy Crabaugh, softball
2010–Jenni Gaby, softball
2011–Brittany Tibbs, women’s soccer-softball
2012–Emily Davis, women’s basketball
2013–Lauren Gober, women’s basketball
2014–Elia Folch, women’s golf; Beatrize Martinez, women’s wrestling
2015–Emily Webster, women’s wrestling
2016–Caroline Goodin, women’s golf
2017–Caroline Goodin, women’s golf
Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )
Ken MacLeod

Ken MacLeod

Publisher Golf Oklahoma | Oklahoma's No. 1 Golf Source