Oklahoma Golf Hall of Fame announces scholarship recipients

Golf Louisiana Style! 15 courses by designers including Hal Sutton, David Toms and Pete Dye. After your round, you’ll find our “Sportsman’s Paradise” has so much more to offer with great food, fishing, music and gaming.

The Oklahoma Golf Hall of Fame is very proud to announce its 2017 scholarship recipients are Graham Cox of Duncan High School and Chloe McKinney of Durant High School.

The two were selected from a strong and deep field of applicants by the Oklahoma Golf Hall of Fame scholarship committee and approved by the board. They will each receive a $5,000 scholarship and be honored at the Oklahoma Golf Hall of Fame 2017 Induction Ceremony Oct. 1 at Oklahoma City Golf & Country Club.

“It was a very strong field, but Graham and Chloe stood out with their community service, excellent academic work and leadership skills in addition to their golfing prowess,” said Lew Erickson, chairman of the scholarship committee. “We know they will do well in college and be excellent representatives of this honor.”

McKinney, who will attend the University of Central Oklahoma and intends to major in speech pathology, wrote a delightful essay about her history and struggles with the game that helped separate her from the candidates. She has maintained a 3.94 GPA and is a National Honor Society member, also very active in the Fellowship of Christian Athletes and at her church in Durant.

On the course, McKinney has been a starter and solid contributor for Durant for the past three years, including helping lead the team to the 2016 Class 5A state championship. Durant finished third in 2017 and McKinney finished 14th overall. Durant twice won the Academic State Championship as well.

Cox, who will attend the University of Oklahoma in the fall and major in pre-law and political science, is a National Honor Society member, having maintained a 4.0 grade point average, and has a long list of academic and community service accomplishments. He helped lead Duncan to a sixth-place finish in the Class 5A state championship while finishing 14th individually, his second consecutive top 20-finish in the state finals.

“I am thrilled and honored to be selected by the Oklahoma Golf Hall of Fame for this scholarship,” Cox said.

The Oklahoma Golf Hall of Fame will induct Bob Tway, Doug Tewell, Mark Hayes, Joe Walser and Ernie Vossler in its 2017 class on Oct. 1 at Oklahoma City Golf & Country Club. Tickets and much more information are available on www.oklahomagolfhof.org.



Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )
Ken MacLeod

Ken MacLeod

Publisher Golf Oklahoma | Oklahoma's No. 1 Golf Source