Sooners, Cowboys ready for The Maxwell at Oak Tree CC

NORMAN — The No. 13 Oklahoma men’s golf team will close out its regular season this weekend in Edmond, Okla., at The Maxwell. The two-day, 54-hole tournament will be held April 14-15 (Friday-Saturday) at the par-70, 7,102-yard Oak Tree Country Club East Course.

“This is our one opportunity to play at home in front of our fans, and our guys are genuinely excited to get after it this weekend at Oak Tree,” OU head coach Ryan Hybl said. “We want as many fans to come out this week as possible, and hopefully our guys will execute like they are capable.”

The Maxwell marks the sixth time in Hybl’s career as OU head coach that his team will compete in Oklahoma. Additionally, it is just his second regular-season event in the Sooner State, joining last season’s Maxwell tournament.

The 14-team field features four teams ranked in the top 25 of Golfweek/Sagarin Rankings, including Big 12 competitors No. 1 Baylor and No. 5 Oklahoma State. The Sooners and the Cowboys will co-host the event.

OU is returning to action after placing sixth at the 3M Augusta Invitational in Augusta, Ga. Junior Grant Hirschman earned his fourth consecutive top-20 finish with a share of 10th individually.

The Sooner lineup for The Maxwell will include senior Max McGreevy, Hirschman, junior Rylee Reinertson and sophomores Brad Dalke and Blaine Hale. The tournament features a unique pairing format that places all five members of a team lineup together through all three rounds.

Redshirt sophomore Griffin Pierce, redshirt freshmen Quade Cummins and Thomas Johnson and true freshmen Riley Casey and Garett Reband will all compete as individuals and be unattached from team scoring.


The event, which ran from 1992-2008 before being revived last year, was previously contested at Dornick Hills Golf and Country Club in Ardmore, Okla., before changing venues this season.

The 14-team field will play 54 holes at the par-70, 7,102-yard layout with 36 being contested on Friday beginning with an 8:30 a.m. shotgun start. The final round will get underway on Saturday at 9 a.m. with a shotgun start as well. The tournament features a unique format in which all five members of each team are paired together for all three rounds.

All 10 members of Oklahoma State’s roster will participate in the event with senior Zachary Olsen, junior Kristoffer Ventura, sophomores Hayden Wood and Zach Bauchou and freshman Viktor Hovland comprising OSU’s starting five.

Juniors Brendon Jelley, Stratton Nolen and Sam Stevens as well as sophomore Nick Heinen and redshirt freshman Tyson Reeder will all compete individually.

OSU won its first title at the event in 1996 and followed with victories in 1997 and 1998. The Cowboys’ fourth Maxwell title came in 2002 and began a run of seven consecutive wins at the event, which was capped by their victory in 2008.

Last year, the Cowboys finished third after the tournament was shortened to 36 holes after the final round was rained out.

Individually, Brian Guetz was OSU’s first medalist, winning the event in 1996. Edward Loar was victorious the following season. Charles Howell and Anders Hultman went back-to-back in 2000 and 2001, while Hunter Mahan won in 2003 and Jonathan Moore finished first in 2006.

Live scoring for the event will be available at Friday’s action will be televised from 1:30-6:30 p.m. and will be carried by Fox Sports Southwest and Fox College Sports Pacific.

Admission to The Maxwell is free of charge to fans.

Baylor (1)

Oklahoma State (5)

Oklahoma (13)

Colorado (24)


East Carolina


North Texas



Wichita State

The par-70, 7,102-yard Oak Tree Country Club East Course serves as the site for The Maxwell. The Sooners won the NCAA National Championship at Oak Tree in 1989.

Fifty-four holes will be played over two days, with the first round will beginning Friday at 8:30 a.m. CT with a shotgun start. The Sooners will tee off from hole No. 10, and OU’s individual competitors will start at hole No. 9. The second round will follow that afternoon. Saturday’s final round will begin at 9 a.m. CT.

Partly cloudy with a high of 80 degrees, a 10 percent chance of rain, and winds from the south at 20-30 mph.

Saturday: Mostly cloudy with a high of 78 degrees, a 20 percent chance of rain, and winds from the south at 15-25 mph.

The Sooners competed in and co-hosted every Maxwell tournament from 1992 to 2007 and were instrumental in the tournament’s return in 2016. Last season, OU claimed sixth after the third round was canceled due to inclement weather.

The Maxwell will be broadcast on Friday from 1:30-6:30 p.m. CT on Fox Sports Southwest and Fox College Sports Pacific. Streaming will also be available on the FOX Sports GO app with cable package authentication.

Live scoring will be available on

Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

Ken MacLeod

Publisher Golf Oklahoma | Oklahoma's No. 1 Golf Source