Cameron men win Lone Star title, women take sixth

Like and Follow Golf Oklahoma

FRISCO, Texas – The Cameron University Aggies are back-to-back Lone Star Conference Champions after edging rival Midwestern State in sudden death medal match play on Tuesday afternoon.

Cameron’s title is its tenth since 1989 and sets a new league mark in men’s golf; the Aggies have also won three championships in the last four years.
Cameron would get wins from Bradley Ferrell, who finished the final round four-strokes up, and Zander Winston finished three strokes up for two points.  However Cullen Stahl  and Dylan McClure lost close matches and Corey Bounds tied his match at 76 to send the teams into a playoff. Cameron won the first hole in the sudden death playoff.

Winston and Stahl both landed on the LSC All-Tournament team with Winston coming in second with a 216 (72-70-74) and Stahl two shots back (75-71-72). McClure was tied for tenth with a 224 (73-74-77) and Bounds was 18th (76-78-76 – 230).
The wait for the a champion was delayed five hours by storms.

"It was a long day; we were rocking along pretty good until holes 15 and 16 hurt us and forced that playoff," said head coach Jerry Hrnciar.  "The team handled the playoff really well and serves us really well for regional’s coming up. The great thing is that it prepares the group and you can’t duplicate that scenario anytime else."

Cameron women place sixth in Lone Star Championship

FRISCO, Texas – Cameron slid two spots and finished the Lone Star Conference Championship in sixth place after carding a 322 on Tuesday.

Katie Johnston who had a career low 70 in Monday’s round shot an 86 and slid from second place to 15th in the individual leader board. 

Jaqueline Strickland wrapped up her career with an 11th place finish at 153.  The four year letter winner will leave Cameron as its all-time stroke average leader and had four top-five finishes.

Cameron freshman Erin Hess wrapped up her first year with a 155 (75-80) and came in 13th place, Alexis Thompson was 23rd (80-79 – 159).   Rounding out the group was Candice Swartz, a fifth year senior who shot 175 (87-88) in her final tournament.  
"We didn’t handle it every well today," said head coach Rick Goodwin, who is retiring at the end of the academic year.  "Overall Katie and Erin had career rounds yesterday and Alexis has plenty of talent, I feel like after it’s all said and done that the new coach next year will have something to work with."
"It has been a great ride over the last ten years; we won a championship and won a few tournaments in the last couple of years This program has come a long ways."
Midwestern State won by 16 strokes with a 598 over West Texas A&M, Angelo State and Tarleton State both tied for third with a 616.
Sierra Campbell from MSU won the individual title with a 147. ​

Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

Ken MacLeod

Publisher Golf Oklahoma | Oklahoma's No. 1 Golf Source

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *