Cowboy, Sooners back in Ardmore at The Maxwell this weekend

Like and Follow Golf Oklahoma

ARDMORE, Okla. – For the first time since 2008, The Maxwell will be part of the Oklahoma State, Oklahoma and Tulsa men’s golf schedules.

Tournament director Bob Bramlett and Oklahoma coach Ryan Hybl were the instrumental figures in returning the collegiate event to Dornick Hills, the first golf course designed by legendary architect Perry Maxwell.

"You have to give John and Ryan the credit for bringing it back," said Oklahoma State coach Alan Bratton, who played in the event all four years of his collegiate career without much success but later won the Oklahoma Golf Association State Amateur there. "And we’ve got a great field coming in."

The 54-hole event will consist of 36 holes on Saturday and 18 on Sunday. Play will begin at 8 a.m. (CST) each day and features a unique format in which all five members of each team are paired together for all three rounds.

Top-ranked Texas is one of the 11 teams in action at the par-70, 6,586-yard layout. Former Oklahoma State coach Mike McGraw will be there with his 29th-ranked Baylor Bears, Eight of the participating teams are ranked in the top 45.

The Cowboys won their first title at the event in 1996 and followed with victories in 1997 and 1998. OSU began a string of seven consecutive wins at the event in 2002. That streak concluded in 2008, the last year the tournament was held.

Six Cowboys have come away with medalist honors at the event. Brian Guetz was the first in 1996 and was followed by Edward Loar in 1997. Charles Howell was the champion in 2000, while Anders Hultman won the event in 2001. Hunter Mahan (2003) and Jonathan Moore (2006) were also victorious at the event.

OSU is coming off its third win of the year in its last outing at the Aggie Invitational earlier this month. Sophomore Kristoffer Ventura picked up his first career individual win in the process.

Ventura will be joined in the lineup this week by senior Jordan Niebrugge, junior Wyndham Clark, sophomore Brendon Jelley and freshman Zach Bauchou. Bratton said that is likely the lineup that will start for OSU in conference and postseason play.

"Those are the five that have played the best all year," Bratton said. "Not that we don’t have others who can contribute in a big way."

Five Cowboys will compete individually with junior Zachary Olsen, sophomores Sam Stevens and Stratton Nolen as well as redshirt freshmen Nick Heinen and Hayden Wood all taking part.

Hybl said No. 20 Oklahoma looks forward to the return of The Maxwell.

“We’re looking forward to having a great time in front of the Oklahoma people, and it’s on an awesome golf course,” Hybl said. “Dornick Hills is a really cool place with rich tradition and history, and we’re just thankful that we’ve got a good field and people are wanting to come be a part of it.”

The Maxwell also marks just the third time in Hybl’s career as OU head coach that his team will compete in the state of Oklahoma.

“We’re excited to be able to go and play in our home state,” Hybl said. “Our guys are going to be able to feel like they’re playing at home in front of crowds and get excited about that. For us, it’s just a huge deal because it’s close to home.”

OU is returning to action after taking 10th place at the Aggie Invitational in Bryan, Texas. Junior Max McGreevy led the Sooners, claiming 19th place individually.

The Sooner lineup for the Maxwell will include senior Luke Kwon, McGreevy, sophomore Grant Hirschman and freshmen Brad Dalke and Blaine Hale. The Maxwell features a unique pairing format that places all five members of a team lineup together through all three rounds.

Senior Beau Titsworth, sophomore Rylee Reinertson and freshman Aaron Terrazas will compete as individuals and be unattached from team scoring.

Admission to the tournament is free of charge for fans.

Texas (1)
Oklahoma State (9)
Oklahoma (20)
Baylor (29)
Augusta University (32)
New Mexico (33)
Houston (35)
Memphis (45)
East Carolina

The par-70, 6,586-yard Dornick Hills Golf and Country Club will serve as the site for the Maxwell. This course was designed by famous course architect Perry Maxwell, who is the tournament’s namesake.

Fifty-four holes will be played over two days. The first round is slated to begin Saturday morning at 8 a.m. CT with a shotgun start, and the second round will follow that afternoon. The final round is scheduled for Sunday morning at 8 a.m. with a shotgun start.

Saturday: Overcast with a high of 72 deg
rees, wind from the east, southeast at 10-20 mph and a 30 percent chance of rain.

Sunday: A 90 percent chance of rain with a high of 68 degrees and winds from the southeast at 10-20 mph.

The Sooners competed in and co-hosted every Maxwell tournament from 1992 to 2007, with the team’s best finishes coming in 1993 and 1996, claiming second overall. In 1994, OU’s Patrick Lee was the individual champion at 210 (E).

Live stats will be available on

Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

Ken MacLeod

Publisher Golf Oklahoma | Oklahoma's No. 1 Golf Source

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *