Gough, Rindermann to share 2023 Everett Dobson Award

Like and Follow Golf Oklahoma

The Oklahoma Golf Hall of Fame has announced Natalie Gough of Oklahoma City University and Mikaela Rindermann of Southwestern Oklahoma State University as co-winners of the 2023 Everett Dobson Award.

The Everett Dobson Award is a $5,000 cash award to help a collegiate golfer embark on a career after graduating from their university. The two will each receive $2,500. It is the first time the Oklahoma Golf Hall of Fame selection committee recommended splitting the award.

“The committee was impressed by Natalie and Mikaela,” said Lew Erickson, who chairs the scholarship and awards committee. “We decided that they were both deserving of the award. Mikaela’s self determination and commitment spoke to the committee, while Natalie exemplifies the spirit of the sport. They both have a bright future.”

Gough, from Bixby, played five years for Oklahoma City University, loves the game and plans to continue to work in the golf business after earning her Master’s Degree from OCU. She is currently working full-time at Oklahoma City Golf & Country Club while taking online classes and plans with a goal of eventually working for the PGA Tour in its tournament production department or possibly for the PGA of America at its new headquarters in Frisco, Texas.

Gough was a three-time Sooner Athletic Conference Player of the Year and earned NAIA All-America honors each year of her collegiate career. She helped OCU finish second in the 2021 NAIA National Championship at Rose Creek in Edmond.

Natalie Gough

Rindermann played five seasons at SWOSU, working her way up to becoming an all-conference player and a three-time Academic All-American. She  is currently working as a paralegal at the Farzaneh-Patel law firm in Oklahoma City and plans to go to law school. She is working immigration cases and said she finds it fascinating and makes her even more eager to become a lawyer.

Mikaela Rinderman

The two will receive their awards at the 2023 Oklahoma Golf Hall of Fame induction banquet Nov. 12 at Southern Hills Country Club. The 2023 class consists of Michael Hughett, Stacy Prammanasudh, Morri Rose, Ron Streck and Bo Wininger. Tickets or tables for the event can be purchased while available at www.oklahomagolfhof.org.

Previous Everett Dobson Award winners

2022: Kaylee Petersen, Northeastern State University
2021: Kaitlin Milligan, University of Oklahoma
2020: Sydney Youngblood, University of Oklahoma
2019: Elizabeth Freeman, Oklahoma Christian University
2018: Rylee Reinerston, University of Oklahoma
2017: Drew Posada, Oklahoma Baptist University
2016: Jordan Niebrugge, Oklahoma State University

About The Everett Dobson Award:

The Everett Dobson Award is named for the Oklahoma City businessman, philanthropist and avid golfer and champion of the game who provided the initial impetus and funding to start the Oklahoma Golf Hall of Fame.

Dobson, who played his collegiate golf at Southwestern Oklahoma State and is a former president of the Oklahoma Golf Association, is the owner of Oak Tree National, among other business and philanthropical interests.

Criteria for the award include that the recipient should exemplify strong citizenship, sportsmanship and character – attributes that the OGHOF believes are engendered by the game of golf.  Golf accomplishments are considered, but are not the sole or determining factor for this Award.

About the Oklahoma Golf Hall of Fame:

The non-profit Oklahoma Golf Hall of Fame was established in 2014 and merged with the previously established Women’s Oklahoma Golf Hall of Fame. The Class of 2023 is its sixth induction class. Videos of each inductee are on the website. Tickets, sponsor tables and more information are also available at www.oklahomagolfhof.org.


Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

Ken MacLeod

Publisher Golf Oklahoma | Oklahoma's No. 1 Golf Source