Honors roll in for Oklahoma teams, individuals

Like and Follow Golf Oklahoma

OSU, OU each land four on All-Academic Team

IRVING, Texas — Oklahoma State’s golf programs were honored this week for their work in the classroom with the announcement of the 2015 Academic All-Big 12 Golf Team by the league office.

On the men’s side, the Cowboys had four first-team members. Redshirt freshman Brendon Jelley, a finance major, was joined by sophomore accounting major Zachary Olsen, senior education major Tanner Kesterson and junior Jordan Niebrugge, an entrepreneurship/management major, on the squad.

For the Cowgirls, a pair of sophomores earned first-team recognition as well. Isabella Deilert, who is undecided on her major, as well as management major Linnea Johansson were both honored.

First-team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA while the second-team selections hold a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

To qualify, student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of their team’s scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible. 

Four members of the No. 9 Oklahoma men’s golf team were among 33 student-athletes named to the 2015 Academic All-Big 12 Men’s Golf First Team.

Senior Michael Gellerman (communication), senior Charlie Saxon (communication), junior Beau Titsworth (finance) and junior Luke Kwon (multidisciplinary studies) earned first-team honors with a 3.20 or better GPA. The first-team honor is the third in a row for Gellerman, while Saxon and Titsworth are recognized for the second time. The award is the first for Kwon.

A total of 26 student-athletes from the conference’s nine universities with men’s golf programs made the first team, while seven claimed second-team spots.

"I am always proud of the way our guys handle themselves in the classroom, and these four guys have excelled here at the University of Oklahoma," said Ryan Hybl, sixth-year OU head coach. "What is even better is that all of these guys play for us every week, so they balance missing a lot of school throughout the year and deserve serious credit for their efforts."

University of Oklahoma women’s golfer Maggie Neece was one of 27 student-athletes named to the 2015 Academic All-Big 12 Women’s Golf Team>

Neece, a sophomore public relations major, was one of 24 student-athletes who received first-team status, which required a 3.20 GPA or better. This was the first year Neece was eligible for the recognition.

"I’m really proud of Maggie for this honor," sixth-year OU head coach Veronique Drouin-Luttrell said. "She’s a great example of what it really means to be a student-athlete."

Cameron coach, team honored by Lone Star Conference

FRISCO, Texas – The Cameron University men’s golf team dominated the Lone Star Conference honors on Sunday night at the league’s annual post season awards banquet with five honors and Jerry Hrnciar being named Coach of the Year for the third year in a row.

Cullen Stahl, Bradley Ferrell, and Dylan McClure were named as First Team All-Conference, with Zander Winston and Corey Bounds both landing as Second Team honorees.  All of them with the exception of Winston have been named to the LSC All-Conference team in years prior.   Winston is in his first year with the Aggie program after transferring from Centenary College, where he was named All-Conference during his sophomore season.

For Hrnciar this is his eighth LSC Coach of the Year honor which is most on the men’s side and Cameron is tied with Abilene Christian for the most men’s golf coaching honors.

Midwestern State’s Derek Oland was named the Lone Star Conference Men’s Player of the Year for the second straight year, West Texas A&M’s Oscar Spolander earned Freshman of Year honors, while MSU’s Tom Smith was tabbed Newcomer of the Year. 

Two Oral Roberts women earn Summit League honors

SEASIDE, Calif – With the 2015 Summit League Women’s Golf Championship set to begin Monday morning, the league announced its All-Summit League teams Sunday night, with a pair of Golden Eagles earning distinction.

Junior Alejandra Acosta was named to the first team, while freshman Kennedy Ishee earned a spot on the second team. Acosta earned her third all-conference honor, having been named first team All-Southland in 2014 and second team All-Southland in 2013. She leads the league with a 74.4 stroke average this year and has four top five finishes, including an individual championship at the ORU Shootout. The last time out, Acosta carded a 2-over 218 to finish tied for third at the Kansas City Shootout earning her Summit League Athlete of the Week honors.

Ishee burst onto the scene with a tie for fifth place in the first tournament of her ORU career, and went on to finish runner-up at the MSU/Payne Stewart Memorial. She is tied for third in the Summit League with a 75.7 stroke average and has four top 10 finishes this year. Ishee was named the Summit League Golfer of the Month for October after helping ORU to a team title at the MSU/Payne Stewart Memorial.

As a team, ORU leads the league in scoring at 301.1 strokes per round, just ahead of Denver who averages 301.5 strokes per round. The Golden Eagles had a pair of team titles this year and finished third or better seven times in nine tournaments.

First Team
Alejandra Acosta, Oral Roberts
Mariell Bruun, Denver
Jessica Carty, Denver
Elyse Smidinger, Denver
Isabel Southard, Denver
Second Team
Kennedy Ishee, Oral Roberts
Hallie Getz, South Dakota State
Natalie Roth, North Dakota State
Sydney MacDonald, South Dakota State
Rachael Watton, Denver

Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

Ken MacLeod

Publisher Golf Oklahoma | Oklahoma's No. 1 Golf Source

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *