Oak Hill Country Club lands 2023 PGA Championship

Like and Follow Golf Oklahoma

PITTSFORD, N.Y. – The PGA of America announced Wednesday that Oak Hill Country Club in Pittsford, New York, will host the 105th PGA Championship on its famed East Course in 2023.

“The PGA of America is proud to return to one of golf’s grand stages, Oak Hill’s East Course, which has tested the game’s greatest champions for nearly 70 years,” said PGA of America President Derek Sprague. “Oak Hill’s membership and the Rochester community have always embraced major championships. Their enthusiasm for the game and collective spirit of hospitality is recognized in golf circles worldwide as something to behold.”

This will be a record-tying fourth PGA Championship at Oak Hill, which was designed by Donald Ross in 1925. Southern Hills Country Club in Tulsa, Oklahoma is the only other facility to host four PGA Championships.

Oak Hill, like Southern Hills, had been seeking a return of the U.S. Open, but switched gears to concentrate on the return of the PGA Championship. Southern Hills has also begun to court the PGA of America again and a contingent from the club attended the 2015 PGA Championship at Whistling Straights, won by Jason Day.

Oak Hill has been the site of many PGA Championship memories. Jack Nicklaus won the penultimate major of his legendary career by seven shots at Oak Hill in the 1980 PGA Championship.

Nursing a one-shot lead at the 2003 PGA Championship, Shaun Micheel struck one of the greatest clinching shots in golf history when his 174-yard 7-iron on the 72nd hole left him with a two-inch tap-in birdie.

Most recently, Jason Dufner’s second-round 63 during the 2013 PGA Championship set the East Course record and the stage for the first major championship of his career.

Oak Hill was also the site of the 31st Ryder Cup in 1995, which Europe captured with a stunning final-day comeback, 14½ to 13½.

Other major and premier championships conducted at Oak Hill include the 2008 Senior PGA Championship (won by Jay Haas), the 1998 U.S. Amateur (Hank Kuehne), 1989 U.S. Open (Curtis Strange), 1984 U.S. Senior Open (Miller Barber), 1968 U.S. Open (Lee Trevino), 1956 U.S. Open (Cary Middlecoff), and 1949 U.S. Amateur (Charles Coe).

“The Oak Hill membership is thrilled to have the opportunity to host the 2023 PGA Championship,” said Oak Hill Country Club President Willie Strassburg. “The 2023 Championship will be the sixth PGA of America event at Oak Hill spanning five decades, demonstrating the strong bonds between the two organizations. The local support from the spectators, the volunteers, the sponsors, the media, and the Rochester community in general provides Oak Hill the incentive and the ability to keep bringing major championships back to town.”



Oak Hill Country Club in

Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

Ken MacLeod

Publisher Golf Oklahoma | Oklahoma's No. 1 Golf Source

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *