OCU Stars to host historic U.C. Ferguson Classic at Lincoln Park

Like and Follow Golf Oklahoma

OKLAHOMA CITY – Oklahoma City University takes to the course for the first time in 2019-20 in the 47th U.C. Ferguson Classic at 8:30 a.m. Tuesday and Wednesday at Lincoln Park Golf Course.

The U.C. Ferguson Classic features the Stars, ranked third in NAIA men’s golf, and No. 21 Bellevue (Neb.) among the 14-team field.

Oklahoma City owns the past five tournament crowns, while David Meyers is the defending individual champion. Meyers, a senior from Johannesburg, South Africa, posted a 71.06 scoring average, two victories and five top-five finishes last season. OCU has won the Ferguson Classic 15 times.

OCU returns all-Americans Peri’Don Castille and Carson Seals. Castille, a senior from Dallas, landed second-team all-American accolades on the NAIA and Golf Coaches Association of America teams. Seals, a senior from Ardmore, was a consensus third-team all-American. Meyers is a two-time all-American.

In 2018-19, Oklahoma City took seven victories and three second-place showings in 12 events. The Stars produced a third-place finish in the NAIA Championships on May 21-24 in Mesa, Ariz.

Lincoln Park rates as one of Oklahoma’s finest public golf courses. Oklahoma City’s oldest public golf course unveiled its new state-of-the-art $9.25 million club house in spring 2015. The course was designed by Art Jackson and built in 1923. It features bent grass on the greens and Bermuda grass on the fairways. Lincoln Park hosts the NAIA women’s golf championships for the second consecutive year May 12-15, 2020.

The Stars have won 11 NAIA men’s golf titles in 2001, ’02, ’03, ’04, ’06, ’07, ’10, ’12, ’13, ’16 and ’18.


At Oklahoma City
Lincoln Park Golf Course, 4001 NE Grand Blvd.


No. 3 Oklahoma City

No. 21 Bellevue (Neb.)

Baker (Kan.)

Central Baptist (Ark.)

Central Christian (Kan.)

Grand View (Iowa)

Kansas Wesleyan

Murray State

Oklahoma Panhandle State

Oklahoma Wesleyan

Southwestern (Kan.)

Southwestern Christian

Sterling (Kan.)


54 Holes
Individual scoring

Bruno Buccolo, Oklahoma Christian, 68-65-64–197, 2006; Sam Johnston, Oklahoma Christian, 63-69-65–197, 2012, Lincoln Golf Course
Team scoring
Bellevue (Neb.), 279-273-267–819, Lincoln Park Golf Course, 2012

1972—Jim Zimmerman, Oklahoma
1973—Shelley Houston, LSU
1974—Kirk Goss, Oklahoma State
1975—Randy Simmons, Texas
1976—Lindy Miller, Oklahoma State
1977—John Stark, Houston
1978—Rafael Alarcon, Oklahoma State
1979—Mark Tinder, Oral Roberts
1980—Joe Rassett, Oral Roberts
1981—Tracy Phillips, Oklahoma State
1982—Andy Dillard, Oklahoma State
1983—Andy Dillard, Oklahoma State
1984—Cliff Pierce, Oklahoma
1985—Kevin Baldwin, Oklahoma City
1986—Brian McGreevy, Kansas
1987—Curtis Wangrud, Central Oklahoma
1988—Jason Lamb, Texas Lutheran
1989—Jason Lamb, Texas Lutheran
1990—Cam Beckman, Texas Lutheran
1991—Brian Sloan, Oklahoma City
1992—Lynn Johnson, Cameron
1993—Travis Deibert, Odessa (Texas)
1994—Corey Smith, Southwestern Oklahoma State
1995—Jeff Lamp, Texas Lutheran
1996—Jason Jeter, Cameron
1997—Nick Hughes, Oklahoma City
1998—Richard Guzzo, Oklahoma Christian
1999—Dustin Semsch, Central Oklahoma
2000—Jamie McCleary, Odessa (Texas)
2001—Yasin Ali, Austin Morris (Texas)
2002—Diego Fernandez, Oklahoma Christian
2003—Andreas Rydholm, Oklahoma City
2004—Garrard Weston, Oklahoma City
2005—Boris Bruckert, Berry (Ga.)
2006—Bruno Buccolo, Oklahoma Christian
2007—Clay Parks, Oklahoma City
2008—Anthony Michael, Oklahoma City-x
2010 (spring)—Michael Palmer, Oklahoma City
2010 (fall)—Clark Collier, Oklahoma City
2012—Sam Johnston, Oklahoma Christian
2013—Cody Taylor, Oklahoma
2014—Anthony Marchesani, Jamie Warman, Oklahoma City-y
2015—Adam Blomme, Odessa (Texas)
2016—Matthew Cheung, Oklahoma City
2017—Rupert Kaminski, Oklahoma City
2018—David Meyers, Oklahoma City

x-won on fifth playoff hole; y-co-champions

1972—Oklahoma State
1974—Oklahoma State
1978—Oklahoma State
1979—Oklahoma State
1980—Oral Roberts
1981—Oklahoma State
1982—Oklahoma State
1986—North Texas
1987—Iowa State
1988—Oklahoma City
1989—Texas Lutheran
1990—Texas Wesleyan
1991—Texas Lutheran
1992—Texas Lutheran
1993—Odessa (Texas)
1994—Odessa (Texas)
1995—Texas Lutheran
1996—Central Oklahoma
1997—Oklahoma City
1999—Southwestern Oklahoma State
2000—Odessa (Texas)
2001—Oklahoma City
2002—Northwood (Texas)
2003—Oklahoma City
2004—Oklahoma City
2005—Berry (Ga.)
2006—Oklahoma City-x
2007—Oklahoma City
2008—Oklahoma City
2010 (spring)—Oklahoma City
2010 (fall)—Oklahoma City
2012—Bellevue (Neb.)
2013—Wayland Baptist (Texas)
2014—Oklahoma City
2015—Oklahoma City
2016—Oklahoma City
2017—Oklahoma City
2018—Oklahoma City

x-won on third playoff hole

Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

Ken MacLeod

Publisher Golf Oklahoma | Oklahoma's No. 1 Golf Source