OSU’s Chacarra named a finalist for Ben Hogan Award

Like and Follow Golf Oklahoma

FORT WORTH, Texas – Oklahoma State’s Eugenio Chacarra has been named one of three finalists for the Ben Hogan Award it was announced today by the Hogan Trophy Award Foundation, Friends of Golf and the Golf Coaches Association of America.

Joining Chacarra as finalists are Texas Tech’s Ludvig Aberg and Texas A&M’s Sam Bennett.

The Ben Hogan Award presented by PNC Bank annually awards the top men’s NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or NJCAA college golfer based on all collegiate, amateur and professional events over the previous 12 months.

The award began honoring the outstanding amateur collegiate golfer at Colonial Country Club in 2002. Prior to its move to Fort Worth, the original Ben Hogan Trophy, which utilized a different set of criteria for its winner, was issued at Bel-Air Country Club in Los Angeles beginning in 1990.

The senior from Madrid, Spain is seeking to become OSU’s fifth Hogan winner in the past 20 years and is the 10th finalist OSU has produced during that span as well.

Viktor Hovland (2019), Peter Uihlein (2011), Rickie Fowler (2008) and Hunter Mahan (2003) all earned top billing during their time in Stillwater.

Chacarra, who will return for his final season next year, ranks among the top seven in all four rankings systems, including second in the Scratch Players World Amateur Ranking and fourth in the World Amateur Golf Ranking. He was a member of the International side at the 2021 Palmer Cup, where he posted a 4-0 mark, and has been selected to represent the team again in 2022. Chacarra also claimed medalist honors at the 2021 European Amateur Team Championship.

For the Cowboys, he has logged a 69.16 scoring average over 34 rounds with eight top-10 showings. Chacarra has two tournament victories this spring, winning the Amer Ari Invitational and the National Invitational Tournament. He was the Ben Hogan Award’s March Golfer of the Month.

The finalists will attend a black-tie dinner Monday, May 23, at Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas, where the winner will be crowned. The winner will receive an exemption into the 2023 Charles Schwab Challenge, played annually at Colonial.

The award’s selection committee, which votes during each stage of the process, is made up of 34 leaders and experts in professional, amateur and collegiate golf both domestically and internationally.


Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

Ken MacLeod

Publisher Golf Oklahoma | Oklahoma's No. 1 Golf Source