Three U.S. Open sites revealed, Southern Hills still waiting

Like and Follow Golf Oklahoma

More U.S. Open sites announced by the USGA means more frustration for Southern Hills Country Club.

The USGA awarded the 2022, 2023 and 2024 U.S. Open Championships to The Country Club in Brookline, Mass., The Los Angeles (Calif.) Country Club and Pinehurst Resort & Country Club in the Village of Pinehurst, N.C., respectively.

The Country Club and Los Angeles Country Club had been widely speculated already. Pinehurst, which hosted the men’s and women’s Opens in 2014, is now on basically a 10-year rotation.

Combined with the USGA’s penchant for going to newer venues such as Chambers Bay and Erin Hills, the window for a traditional site such as Southern Hills seems to have closed. Southern Hills hosted its third U.S. Open in 2001 and optimism was high when the U.S. Amateur was held there in 2009 that a fourth U.S. Open announcement was imminent, but that has since faded with nothing but silence from the ruling body of U.S. golf.

Southern Hills first hosted the U.S. Open in 1958 and again in 1977. A 24-year stretch before the next Open in 2001 shows that the USGA could come back but just take its time in doing so.

Southern Hills has also hosted the PGA Championship in 1970, 1982, 1994 and 2007. Communications with the PGA of America were basically on hold while Southern Hills courted its fourth Open, but those have recently been reestablished and now it seems more likely that Southern Hills will have a fifth PGA Championship before a fourth U.S. Open.

The 2022 U.S. Open, to be held June 16-19, will be the fourth U.S. Open at The Country Club, which most recently hosted the 2013 U.S. Amateur, won by Matthew Fitzpatrick, of England.

The 2022 U.S. Open will be the 17th USGA championship hosted by The Country Club, second-most among U.S. clubs to Merion, with 18. The three previous U.S. Opens conducted at the club – all of which were decided in 18-hole playoffs – were in 1913 (won by Ouimet), 1963 (won by Julius Boros) and 1988 (won by Curtis Strange).

Read the complete story at the USGA Here

Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

Ken MacLeod

Publisher Golf Oklahoma | Oklahoma's No. 1 Golf Source

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *