Two Cowboys, Sooners make All-Big 12 Team

Like and Follow Golf Oklahoma

University of Oklahoma’s men’s golfers Michael Gellerman and Grant Hirschman have been named to the 10-member 2015 All-Big 12 Team, the conference announced Thursday.

Oklahoma State was represented by junior Jordan Niebrugge and freshman Kristoffer Ventura.

Both Gellerman and Hirschman have played in all 11 team events this season, posting scoring averages of 71.88 (+0.65) and 72.44 (+1.21), respectively.

Gellerman, a senior from Sterling, Kan., was also named to the All-Big 12 team last year. In 2014-15, he has been OU’s most consistent golfer, posting two top-five finishes, seven within the top 10 and 10 top-20 showings. Most recently, Gellerman took a share of third place at the Big 12 Championship with a four-round 287 (+7).

Hirschman has put together an impressive freshman campaign, recording a top-five finish, five top-10 showings and eight within the top 20. The Collierville, Tenn., native finished in a six-way tie for first place at the Liberty Spring Invitational with a three-round 213 (-3).

The team was identified using the highest-ranked golfers according to the Golfweek/Sagarin rankings following the Big 12 Championship. Gellerman is ranked No. 39 nationally, while Hirschman comes in at No. 66.

The Sooners will return to the course for the NCAA San Diego Regional on May 14-16 (Thursday-Saturday).

For Niebrugge, the selection marked the third year in a row he has been chosen. The Mequon, Wis., native has four top 10s to his credit this season, including a third-place showing at the Royal Oaks Intercollegiate that included a closing 64. Niebrugge tied for seventh at both The Prestige at PGA WEST and the John Hayt Collegiate. Most recently, he tied for fifth place at the Big 12 Championship.

Ventura has made nine starts during his first season for the Cowboys. He tied for fifth place at the Amer Ari Invitational after posting a 67 during his final round. The Rygge, Norway native also finished ninth at The Prestige at PGA WEST.

The All-Big 12 Men’s Golf Team is chosen by using the 10 highest-ranked players in the Golfweek/Sagarin rankings released after the Big 12 Men’s Golf Championship.

2015 All-Big 12 Men’s Golf Team
Beau Hossler, Texas (Player of the Year)
Kyle Jones, Baylor
Clement Sordet, Texas Tech
Scottie Scheffler, Texas (Freshman of the Year)
Gavin Hall, Texas
Michael Gellerman, Oklahoma
Jordan Niebrugge, Oklahoma State
Kristoffer Ventura, Oklahoma State
Doug Ghim, Texas
Grant Hirschman, Oklahoma
Coach of the Year
John Fields, Texas  

Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

Ken MacLeod

Publisher Golf Oklahoma | Oklahoma's No. 1 Golf Source

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *