Blaser of OCU named NAIA coach of year

Like and Follow Golf Oklahoma

NORMAN, Okla. – Kyle Blaser of Oklahoma City University garnered the Dave Williams Award as NAIA men’s golf coach of the year as awarded by the Golf Coaches Association of America after leading the Stars to their ninth national championship.

Blaser also was named the NAIA Central Region coach of the year. The national coaches of the year will be presented during the GCAA Convention at the Hall of Fame Banquet on Dec. 9.

In 2012-13, Blaser guided the Stars to a 28-stroke victory in the NAIA Championships on May 17 in Salem, Ore. Blaser has notched more NAIA championships (nine) and NAIA national coach of the year awards (eight) than any men’s golf coach. He also picked up the Sooner Athletic Conference coach of the year.

Oklahoma City captured four victories in 12 events, including the SAC Championships by 19 shots. OCU had four all-Americans, including the NAIA individual champion and Jack Nicklaus award winner Sondre Ronold; the league individual champ, Michael Palmer; and the NAIA Phil Mickelson Award winner, Anthony Marchesani.

OCU has captured national championships in 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2010, 2012 and 2013, all under Blaser. Blaser entered the NAIA Hall of Fame in 2012-13.

Other national coach of the year award recipients were Steve Desimone of California in NCAA Division I, Jimmy Stobs of Barry (Fla.) in NCAA Division II, King Campbell of UT Tyler in NCAA Division III, Dave Jennings of Central Alabama in NJCAA Division I and Bill Gardner of Walters State (Tenn.) in NJCAA Division II.
Dave Williams Award Presented by Eaton Golf Pride
Division I – Steve Desimone, California
Division II – Jimmy Stobs, Barry
Division III – King Campbell, UT Tyler
NAIA – Kyle Blaser, Oklahoma City
NJCAA Division I – Dave Jennings, Central Alabama
NJCAA Division II – Bill Gardner, Walters State
Eaton Golf Pride Region Coaches of the Year
Division I
Northeast – Colin Sheehan, Yale
East – Bruce Heppler, Georgia Tech
Southeast – Jay Seawell, Alabama
Midwest – Mike Small, Illinois
Central – Mark Leroux, Missouri
West – Steve Desimone, California
Division II
East – Harry Jennings, Wilmington (Del.)
Atlantic – Pete Coughlin, CUP
Southeast – Mike Carlisle, USC Aiken
South – Jimmy Stobs, Barry
Midwest – Troy Halterman, Missouri-St. Louis
Central – Pat Bates, Central Oklahoma
South Central – Phil Trujillo, UC-Colorado Springs
West – Jason Owen, CSU Monterey Bay
Division III
Northeast – Fred Fruisen, Skidmore
Mid-Atlantic – Bob Simms, St. John Fisher
Southeast – Steve Conley, Methodist
Great Lakes – Brian Lane, Transylvania
Central – Jim Ott, Illinois Wesleyan
West – Ron Macosko, Schreiner
North – Chris Winkle, Grand View
South – John Maupin, Lee
Central – Kyle Blaser, Oklahoma City
West – Greg Hutton, CSU-San Marcos
NJCAA Division I
District I – Dan Dersam, Scottsdale
District II – Vince Clark, McClennan
District III – Mike Hagen, Indian Hills
District IV – Dave Jennings, Central Alabama
NJCAA Division II
East – Bill Gardner, Walters State
Central – Ronny Ross, Copiah-Lincoln
West – Jake Harrington, South Mountain

Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

Ken MacLeod

Publisher Golf Oklahoma | Oklahoma's No. 1 Golf Source

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *