Bratton is coach of the year, Wolff named top freshman

Like and Follow Golf Oklahoma

NORMAN, Okla. – Oklahoma State’s men’s golf team continued its awards haul with head coach Alan Bratton and freshman Matthew Wolff receiving national recognition from the Golf Coaches Association of America.

Bratton was named the Dave Williams National Coach of the Year Award recipient. Wolff was tabbed as the Phil Mickelson Award winner, which honors the nation’s top freshman.

This past season, Bratton led the Cowboys to the program’s 11th NCAA title after defeating Alabama last Wednesday in the title match at Karsten Creek. OSU’s national title was its 10th win of the year, matching the school’s single-season record. The Cowboys also reeled off seven wins in a row at one point during the campaign.

Additionally, the Cowboys finished third, fourth and second in their other three starts and were ranked first in the final six Bushnell Golfweek Coaches Polls of the season.

Individually, Wolff and sophomore Viktor Hovland were named first-team All-Americans.

During his rookie campaign, Wolff had four runner-up showings to his credit on the year, finishing second at the Golf Club of Georgia Collegiate, Amer Ari Invitational, Querencia Cabo Collegiate and the NCAA Columbus Regional. The Big 12 Newcomer of the Year had three additional top-10 finishes and only placed outside the top 20 once in 13 tournaments.

He joins Pablo Martin (2005), Jonathan Moore (2006), Rickie Fowler (2008) and Morgan Hoffmann (2009) as OSU recipients of the award.

Brandon Mancheno of Auburn, Georgia Tech’s Noah Norton, John Pak of Florida State, and Clemson’s Turk Pettit joined Wolff on the All-Freshmen Team.


Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

Ken MacLeod

Publisher Golf Oklahoma | Oklahoma's No. 1 Golf Source