Cowboys pursue 11th national title at Prairie Dunes, Sooners in hunt for fourth consecutive year

Like and Share this post

Oklahoma State will seek its 11th NCAA title when play gets underway at the NCAA Championship at Prairie Dunes Country Club in Hutchinson, Kan. The event will run May 23-28 and will consist of 54 holes of stroke play to determine the eight teams for the match play portion of the tournament. Following three rounds, the top 40 individuals and ties will play an additional 18 holes on Monday to determine the individual champion.

Match play will take place on Tuesday and Wednesday. OSU will be the No. 2 seed and will be grouped with No. 1 seed Alabama and third-seeded Stanford. The trio will tee off Friday at 12:20 p.m.

The three teams will begin second-round action on Saturday at 7:00 a.m. Live scoring will be available at Golf Channel will televise the action Monday-Wednesday from 4-7 p.m. (CST) each day.

OSU has won 10 NCAA titles and has produced eight individual national champions. The Cowboys last national title came in 2006 under the direction of Mike McGraw. That same year also resulted in OSU’s most recent medalist at the event in Jonathan Moore.

OSU’s first NCAA crown came in 1963 under the guidance of Labron Harris.

Former coach and current OSU athletics director Mike Holder captured eight titles, winning in 1976, 1978, 1980, 1983, 1987, 1991, 1995 and 2000. Earl Moeller was OSU’s first individual champion in 1953 and was followed by Grier Jones in 1968. David Edwards won in 1978 and was followed by Scott Verplank, Brian Watts an E.J. Pfister, who won consecutively from 1986-88. Charles Howell won in record-setting fashion in 2000 and was the program’s seventh national champion.

Notes: OSU’s first four victories this season came consecutively. The four-tournament winning streak marked the fifth time the Cowboys have won four in a row in program history and is tied for sixth on the school’s all-time list of winning streaks. It was also OSU’s longest string since reeling off five victories in a row in 1994-95.

• OSU’s regional victory marked the 28th time in the last 38 years it has won at least five times in a season. 

• Talor Gooch enters the event with a string of five consecutive top 10s after tying for second place at the NCAA Columbia Regional. OSU’s starting five has a combined 28 top-10 finishes this season.

• The Cowboys have competed at the NCAA Championship in 67 of the program’s 68 years, including an NCAA-record string of 65 consecutive appearances from 1947-2011.

• Six of OSU’s nine Big 12 titles have come at Prairie Dunes (1997, 1998, 2000, 2007, 2009 and 2011).

• OSU also won Big Eight titles at the Perry Maxwell design in 1987, 1993, 1994, 1995 and 1996.

• Head coach Alan Bratton finished first in 1992, fourth in 1993, second in 1994 and first in 1995 at Prairie Dunes at the conference tourney. Assistant coach Brian Guetz finished third in 1996 and 13th in 1997.

Sooners in hunt for fourth consecutive year

For the fourth straight year, the 14th-ranked University of Oklahoma men’s golf team will compete at the NCAA Championships. This year’s tournament will be played Friday through Wednesday (May 23-28) at the 6,948-yard, par-70 Prairie Dunes Country Club in Hutchinson, Kan.

The Sooners qualified for the national tournament by taking third at the NCAA Eugene Regional with a three-round 860 (+20). Individually, three Sooners finished within the top 10, led by Beau Titsworth, who took seventh with a 4-over-par 214.

OU head coach Ryan Hybl said his squad is ready for the chance to play at NCAAs again.

"Prairie Dunes is one of the best golf courses in our country, and we are privileged to be able to play there," Hybl said. "Our guys are really excited to be here this week, and we will be prepared for the course. This is the best week of the year, and I am happy be we are a part of it."

OU’s lineup will include senior Michael Schoolcraft, juniors Michael Gellerman and Charlie Saxon, sophomore Titsworth and freshman Max McGreevy.

The Sooners will tee off at 2 p.m. CT from the 10th tee for Friday’s first round. They will be paired with No. 14 seed Vanderbilt and No. 15 seed LSU.

1. Alabama (1)
2. Oklahoma State (5)
3. Stanford (4)
4. Georgia Tech (2)
5. California (6)
6. Georgia (3)
7. Washington (8)
8. Illinois (7)
9. Virginia Tech (16)
10. Houston (12)
11. Arkansas (19)
12. UAB (11)
13. Oklahoma (14)
14. Vanderbilt (13)
15. LSU (17)
16. Texas (15)
17. Florida State (24)
18. Texas A&M (10)
19. UCLA (20)
20. Southern California (23)
21. Auburn (21)
22. South Carolina (22)
23. Oregon (39)
24. SMU (28)
25. Kentucky (33)
26. Kennesaw State (37)
27. Missouri (40)
28. Purdue (48)
29. Georgia State (43)
30. Iowa State (42)

1. Ricardo Gouveia, Central Florida
2. Denny McCarthy, Virginia
3. Taylor Pendrith, Kent State
4. Marco Iten, Austin Peay
5. Chris Robb, Chattanooga
6. Cyrus Stewart, Wake Forest

1. Michael Gellerman, Junior: Won individual title at Wyoming Cowboy Classic with a three-round 204 (-6), his first career victory . . . Finished in third place at Border Olympics with a three-round 212 (-4) . . . Took a share of fifth place with a 4-over 217 at UTSA/Oak Hills Invitational … Has recorded four career top-5 finishes, nine top-10 finishes and 18 top-20 finishes.

2. Michael Schoolcraft, Senior: Recorded career-best finish when he tied for second place at the prestigious Southern Highlands Collegiate Masters with a three-over 219 . . . Posted a third-place showing at UTSA/Oak Hills Invitational with a 2-over 215 . . . Finished fifth at Border Olympics with a 215 (-1) . . . Finished last season with a 72.84 (+1.39) scoring average, second best on team.

3. Beau Titsworth, Sophomore: Placed on Big 12 Championship All-Tournament Team after taking a share of fifth, a career best for team events, with a 290 (+2) … Also finished in a tie for fifth place with a 217 (+4) competing as an individual at UTSA/Oak Hills Invitational . . . Placed 10th at Golfweek Conference Challenge with a 1-under 215 . . . Has recorded 12 career top-20 finishes.

4. Charlie Saxon, Junior: Tied for fourth place, his best in a team event, with a 206 (-4) at Wyoming Cowboy Classic . . . Took a share of sixth place at Border Olympics with an even-par 216 . . . Claimed a share of seventh place at Golfweek Conference Challenge after shooting a 214 (-2) . . . Participated in 2013 Lions Classic, which he won with a two-round 141 (+1).

5. Max McGreevy, Freshman: Earned Big 12 Men’s Golfer of the Month honors for September after being highest finisher for Sooners in first two tournaments . . . Led the Sooners at the Golfweek Conference Challenge with a three-round 213 (-3) and fifth-place finish in his first collegiate tournament . . . Won Oklahoma 6A Championship in 2012 and 2013.

This marks OU’s fourth straight and 35th overall NCAA Championships apperance, with a national title win coming in 1989. Last season, the Sooners took 11th for the second straight year at the NCAA Championships at the Capital City Club Crabapple Course in Atlanta, Ga. Their three-round 845 (+5) was three strokes off eighth place, which would have placed them into the match play portion of the event.

Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

Ken MacLeod

Publisher Golf Oklahoma | Oklahoma's No. 1 Golf Source

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.