Cowboys, Sooners begin quest for Big 12 Championship

Like and Follow Golf Oklahoma

TRINITY, Texas – Oklahoma State’s men’s golf team will look to secure its 10th Big 12 title this weekend when it begins play at the Big 12 Championship at Whispering Pines Golf Club.

The Cowboys will serve as the No. 2 seed and will be grouped with top-seeded Texas. The two teams will begin their first round at 8 a.m. (CST) on Friday at the par-72, 7,473-yard layout. The 72-hole tournament will consist of 36 holes on Friday followed by 18 holes on Saturday and Sunday.

OSU’s starting five will consist of senior Jordan Niebrugge, sophomore Kristoffer Ventura, junior Wyndham Clark, sophomore Brendon Jelley and sophomore Stratton Nolen.
The Cowboys have won nine Big 12 titles in the 19-year history of the event. OSU won three of the first four tournaments, finishing atop the leaderboard in 1997, 1998 and 2000. The Cowboys’ next league title came in 2005 before reeling off five-straight victories from 2007-2011.
OSU has produced the event’s individual medalist on eight occasions with Leif Westerberg (1997), Charles Howell (2000), Anders Hultman (2002), Hunter Mahan (2003), Pablo Martin (2007), Rickie Fowler (2008) and Morgan Hoffmann (2009, 2011) all taking top honors.
Overall, the Cowboys have won 54 league titles and have produced 46 individual champions in the 69-year history of the program.
Live scoring for the event will be available at

The No. 20 Oklahoma men’s golf team is also eager for postseason play.

“We can’t wait to get going this week,” OU head coach Ryan Hybl said. “We have been working all year for an opportunity to win championships, and this starts the run. We are going to have fun now and play golf because the preparation has been put in. Now, it’s about focus and execution.”

The Sooners are coming off a sixth place finish at the Maxwell. Max McGreevy was the best finisher for OU, claiming a tie for fourth with a two-round 137 (-3).

OU’s lineup for the Big 12 Championship will include senior Luke Kwon, McGreevy, sophomore Grant Hirschman and freshmen Brad Dalke and Blaine Hale. 

Texas (1)
Oklahoma State (7)
Oklahoma (20)
Baylor (29)
Texas Tech (40)
Kansas (41)
Iowa State
Kansas State
West Virginia

First tee

8 a.m. CT              No. 1 Texas, No. 2 Oklahoma State
8:45 a.m. CT        No. 3 Oklahoma, No. 4 Baylor
9:30 a.m. CT        No. 9 Iowa State, No. 10 West Virginia

10th tee
8:22 a.m. CT        No. 5 Texas Tech, No. 6 Kansas
9:07 a.m. CT        No. 7 TCU, No. 8 Kansas State

The par-72, 7,473-yard Whispering Pines Golf Club will serve as the host site for the 2016 Big 12 Championship, marking the sixth time the championship has been held at the course.

Seventy-two holes will be played over three days. The first round will begin at 8 a.m. Friday, and the Sooners will tee off at 8:45 a.m. from hole No. 1. The second round is scheduled to follow that afternoon. The third round will be played Saturday, and the fourth will take place on Sunday.

Friday: Party cloudy with a high of 89 degrees, winds from the south, southeast at 18 mph and a 20 percent chance of rain.

Saturday: Thunderstorms with an expected accumulation of 1-2 inches of rain, a high of 79 degrees and winds from the south, southeast at 9 mph.

Sunday: Partly cloudy with a high of 87 degrees, winds from the north, northeast at 6 mph and a 10 percent chance of rain.

Last year, the Sooners finished sixth in the Big 12 Championship at the Southern Hills Country Club in Tulsa, Okla., with a four-round 1178 (+58). Overall, OU has 16 conference titles, with the most recent coming in 2006.


Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

Ken MacLeod

Publisher Golf Oklahoma | Oklahoma's No. 1 Golf Source

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *