Cummins, Eckroat named to U.S. Palmer cup team

Like and Follow Golf Oklahoma
ORLANDO, Fla. – Austin Eckroat, a sophomore member of the Oklahoma State men’s golf team, and Quade Cummins, a redshirt junior at the University of Oklahoma, were named to the United States squad for the Arnold Palmer Cup it was announced today at the Arnold Palmer Invitational.
This year’s event between the U.S. and the International side will take place June 7-9 at The Alotian Club in Arkansas.
Fresh off his second career victory as a Cowboy, Eckroat was named to the squad via Team USA’s committee selections.
The Edmond, Okla., native has posted four top-10 finishes on the year. In addition to his win this week at the Querencia Cabo Collegiate, Eckroat tied for third place at The Prestige to go with a seventh-place showing at the Royal Oaks Intercollegiate and a fourth-place tie at the East Lake Cup.

This past summer, Eckroat had runner-up showings at the Pacific Coast Amateur and the Oklahoma Golf Association State Amateur Championship.

Cummins becomes the second OU player to represent the Sooners at the event, joining teammate Brad Dalke. Dalke and OU head coach Ryan Hybl led the U.S. squad to a victory over the international team in the 2018 Arnold Palmer Cup.

Cummins has helped the Sooners to three team wins this season. The junior guided OU to a one-shot win at the Southern Highlands Collegiate on Tuesday in Las Vegas. Cummins is ranked No. 22 nationally by GolfStat and has a 70.77 stroke average this season. The Weatherford, Okla., native has three top-10 finishes this season.

The Arnold Palmer Cup was co-founded by Arnold Palmer and The Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA) and began at the Bay Hill Club & Lodge, Orlando, Fla. in 1997. The event is a Ryder Cup-style tournament featuring the top male university/college golfers matching the United States against Europe.

The Arnold Palmer Cup is supported by Arnie’s Army Charitable Foundation. The Arnold Palmer Cup provides a platform for perpetuating Arnold Palmer’s commitment to youth development and the growth of amateur/collegiate golf.

A spot on the International side will be reserved for both a men’s and women’s golfer for The R&A Scholar Tournament champion, which will be held at St. Andrews on April 1-2. The four coach’s picks will be announced May 3.

U.S. team


Ranking selections

Peter Kuest, BYU

Alex Smalley, Duke

Will Gordon, Vanderbilt

Will Grimmer, Ohio State

Cole Hammer, Texas

Brandon Wu, Stanford


Ranking selections

Mariel Galdiano, UCLA

Dylan Kim, Arkansas

Jennifer Chang, Southern California

Malia Nam, Southern California

Haylee Horford, Furman

Kaitlyn Papp, Texas

Committee selections

John Augenstein, Vanderbilt

Abbey Carlson, Vanderbilt

Hailee Cooper, Texas

Quade Cummins, Oklahoma

Austin Eckroat, Oklahoma State

Stephanie Lau, Northwestern

Emilia Migliaccio, Wake Forest

Ann Parmerter, Dallas Baptist

Chandler Phillips, Texas A&M

Alex Scott, Grand Valley State

International team


Ranking selections

Chun An Yu, Arizona State (Taiwan)

Matthias Schmid, Louisville (Germany)

Peng Pichaikool, Mississippi State (Thailand)

Sandy Scott, Texas Tech (Scotland)

Ivan Ramirez, Texas Tech (Colombia)

Kengo Aoshima, Wake Forest (Japan)


Ranking selections

Frida Kinhult, Florida State (Sweden)

Patty Tavatanakit, UCLA (Thailand)

Hira Naveed, Pepperdine (Australia)

Julie McCarthy, Auburn (Ireland)

Albane Valenzuela, Stanford (Switzerland)

Jiwon Jeon, Alabama (Republic of Korea)

Committee selections

Ana Belac, Duke (Slovenia)

Alex Del Rey, Arizona State (Spain)

Luis Gagne, LSU (Costa Rica)

Lois Kaye Go, South Carolina (Philippines)

Leonie Harm, Houston (Germany)

Takumi Kanaya, Tohoku Fukushi (Japan)

Agathe Laisne, Texas (France)

Jovan Rebula, Auburn (South Africa)


Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

Ken MacLeod

Publisher Golf Oklahoma | Oklahoma's No. 1 Golf Source