Darter named first female Section Professional of the Year

Like and Follow Golf Oklahoma

Broken Arrow, Okla. – Dawn Darter of Sherwood, Ark., has been awarded The South Central PGA’s highest honor, The 2019 Golf Professional of the Year. Darter, a PGA Member for more than 35 years, has served as the head professional at The Greens at North Hills Golf Course since 2010.

Darter received her PGA membership in 1984 and has devoted her career to developing golfers and passing on the integrity of the game. Darter currently serves on the Section Junior Golf Committee, is a PGA Magazine Women Leaders representative and actively supports initiatives from the Section and National organization. Dawn volunteers her time to serve several area high school golf programs, acts as a rules official for The Arkansas State Golf Association and has served as a regional junior golf director for The Arkansas Chapter of The South Central PGA for more than 20 years.

Darter has had a decorated career, having won her chapter’s Player Development Award three times, her chapter’s Youth Player Development Award eight times and The South Central PGA Youth Player Development Award in 2018. She was also inducted into the Arkansas Golf Hall of Fame in 2018. Darter’s reputation in the community is equally impressive, having been named the Sherwood Woman of the year in 2012 and having November 1 named Dawn Darter day in the city of Sherwood as recognition for her service to her community.

In addition to Dawn Darter, The South Central PGA would also like to congratulate all of the 2019 Special Award Recipients. The award winners will be recognized at the South Central PGA Special Awards Banquet, Sunday February 23rd, 2020 at the Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center in Tulsa.

Golf Professional of the Year
Dawn Darter, PGA, The Greens at North Hills, Sherwood, AR

Assistant Golf Professional of the Year
Trent Rommann, PGA, Crestview Country Club, Wichita, Kan.

Teacher of the Year
Kyley Tetley, PGA, The Club at Indian Springs, Broken Arrow

Bill Strausbaugh Award
Troy Hendricks, PGA, The City of Wichita Park & Rec Department, Wichita

Horton Smith Award
Lindsey Cook, PGA, UCO PGA Golf Management, Edmond

Player Development Award
Brent Cryer, PGA, Henderson Golf Management, Edmond

Youth Player Development Award
Carlton Dove, PGA, Wichita Country Club, Wichita

Patriot Award
Jim Young, PGA, River Oaks Golf Club, Edmond

Deacon Palmer Award
Mark Fuller, PGA, The Golf Club at Surrey Hills, Yukon

Merchandiser of the Year (Public/Resort)
Scot Weller, PGA, Auburn Hills Golf Course, Wichita

Merchandiser of the Year (Private)
Jon Burton, PGA, Hardscrabble Country Club, Fort Smith, Ark.

Salesperson of the Year
Bobby Rucker, Footjoy, Edmond

Hall of Fame Inductees
Bill Agler, PGA, Fayetteville, Ark.
Steve Ball, PGA, Oklahoma City
Hugh Edgmon, PGA, Scottsdale, Ariz.

Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

Ken MacLeod

Publisher Golf Oklahoma | Oklahoma's No. 1 Golf Source