Defending champion Sooners, No. 1 OSU ready to get it rolling at Karsten Creek

Like and Follow Golf Oklahoma

Live Stats:

The defending national champion Oklahoma Sooners and top-ranked Oklahoma State are ready to get the party started at the 2018 NCAA Championship, held May 25-30 (Friday-Wednesday) at the par-72, 7,460-yard Karsten Creek Golf Club in Stillwater, Okla.

The Sooners are making their eighth consecutive trip to the NCAA Championship, joining Illinois and Texas as the only programs to qualify for the last eight NCAA Championships.

OU enters the event after winning the NCAA Norman Regional. Redshirt sophomore Quade Cummins took third at regional with a three-day 208 (-8), while junior Blaine Hale placed fourth at 209 (-7) to pace the Sooners. OU has won four out of its last five tournaments.

The Sooners’ lineup for the NCAA Championship will include junior Brad Dalke, senior Grant Hirschman, sophomore Garett Reband, Cummins and Hale. Redshirt sophomore Thomas Johnson will serve as the team’s alternate.

The Sooners, the No. 3 overall seed, will tee off from hole No. 10 starting at 12:20 p.m. CT paired with No. 1 seed Oklahoma State and No. 2 seed Texas A&M.

The No. 1 Cowboys, coming off a regional victory in Columbus, will start a lineup of Zach Bauchou, Kristoffer Ventura, Matthew Wolff, Austin Eckroat and Viktor Hovland. Sam Stevens is the alternate.

Golf Channel Championship Coverage

Monday, May 28
Individual National Championship — 3-7 p.m. (CST) (Live)

Tuesday, May 29
Quarterfinals, Team Match Play  — 10 a.m.-12:30 p.m. (CST) (Live)

Tuesday, May 29
Semifinals, Team Match Play — 3-7 p.m. (CST) (Live)

Wednesday, May 30
Team National Championship  — 3-7 p.m. (CST) (Live)

• For the fourth time, Stillwater will serve as the host site for college golf’s biggest event as Karsten Creek will serve as the 2018 home to the NCAA Championships.
• Oklahoma State previously hosted college golf’s top event in 1973 at Stillwater Country Club, while Karsten Creek hosted the event in 2003 and 2011.
• The tournament will run May 25-May 30 and will consist of 72 holes of stroke play to determine the eight teams for the match play portion of the tournament as well as the individual champion.
• Top-seeded OSU will be grouped with No. 2 Texas A&M and third-seeded Oklahoma for the first two rounds. The Cowboys will begin the first round on the 10th tee at 12:20 p.m. on Friday. OSU’s second round will begin at 7:00 a.m. on the first tee on Saturday.
• After Sunday’s third round, the 30-team field will be trimmed to the top 15 squads and top nine individuals not on an advancing team for Monday’s fourth round.
• The top eight teams will then be placed into a match play bracket to determine the team champion.
• The quarterfinal and semifinal matches will take place on Tuesday and will be followed by Wednesday’s championship match at the par-72, 7,460-yard layout.

Oklahoma State Championship History
• OSU has won 10 NCAA titles and has produced eight individual national champions.
• The Cowboys last national title came in 2006 under the direction of Mike McGraw. That same year also resulted in OSU’s most recent medalist at the event in Jonathan Moore.
• OSU’s first NCAA crown came in 1963 under the guidance of Labron Harris.
• Former coach and current OSU athletics director Mike Holder captured eight titles, winning in 1976, 1978, 1980, 1983, 1987, 1991, 1995 and 2000.
• OSU has produced 17 runner-up finishes after placing second in 2014 at Prairie Dunes Country Club.
• Earl Moeller was OSU’s first individual champion in 1953 and was followed by Grier Jones in 1968. David Edwards won in 1978 and was followed by Scott Verplank, Brian Watts an E.J. Pfister, who won consecutively from 1986-88. Charles Howell won in record-setting fashion in 2000 and was the program’s seventh national champion. Jonathan Moore’s individual title came in 2006.


This season marks the eighth consecutive season the Sooners have advanced to the NCAA Championships and the program’s 40th all-time appearance. The Sooners won the national title in 1989 and 2017. OU has had two individual champions, Walter Emery (1933) and Jimmy Vickers (1952).In 2017, the Sooners won their second NCAA title in program history by defeating Oregon, 3-1-1, in the championship match play final at Rich Harvest Farms in Sugar Grove, Ill.

1. Oklahoma State (1)
2. Texas A&M (2)
3. Oklahoma (4)
4. Vanderbilt (3)
5. Alabama (5)
6. Florida (6)
7. Auburn (7)
8. Illinois (12)
9. Baylor (11)
10. Texas Tech (16)
11. Clemson (14)
12. Texas (15)
13. North Carolina (20)
14. BYU (39)
15. Kansas (40)
16. Stanford (13)
17. Arkansas (17)
18. Arizona State (18)
19. UNLV (19)
20. North Florida (23)
21. Kentucky (26)
22. UCLA (24)
23. Duke (28)
24. Kent State (30)
25. Oregon (36)
26. Northwestern (37)
27. NC State (35)
28. Iowa State (47)
29. UCF (53)
30. Augusta (100)

1. Kyle Mueller, Michigan
2. Braden Thornbery, Ole Miss
3. George Cunningham, Arizona
4. Joshua McCarty, Pepperdine
5. Charles Conner, UTEP
6. Pontus Nyholm, CampbellWEATHER FORECAST

Friday: Partly cloudy with a high of 91 degrees, wind from the south, southeast at 10-15 mph and a 20 percent chance of rain.

Saturday: Partly cloudy with a high of 97 degrees, wind from the south at 10-15 mph and a 20 percent chance of rain.

Sunday: Mostly sunny with a high of 95 degrees, wind from the south, southeast at 10-15 mph and a 10 percent chance of rain.

Monday: Sunny with a high of 94 degrees and wind from the southeast at 5-10 mph and a 10 percent chance of rain.

Tuesday: Partly cloudy with a high of 94 degrees, wind from the southeast at 5-10 mph and a 20 percent chance of rain.

Wednesday: Sunny with a high of 95 degrees, wind from southeast at 10-15 mph and a 20 percent chance of rain.

Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

Ken MacLeod

Publisher Golf Oklahoma | Oklahoma's No. 1 Golf Source