Hernandez, Rogers State claim titles at NSU Classic

Like and Follow Golf Oklahoma

TAHLEQUAH — NSU’s Aitana Hernandez defeated Marybeth Bellnap from Rogers State on the first playoff hole on Tuesday afternoon to win the 21st annual NSU Classic at Cherokee Springs Golf Course. Rogers State won the team championship over Henderson State and Oklahoma Christian.

This is the seventh time an NSU golfer has won the tournament. The last one to do so was Baylee Price in 2016.

Rogers State closed with a round of 302 to edge Henderson State by four shots. In addition to Bellnap taking second, Mariana Flores tied for third after rounds of 75-76, while Jessica Green tied for 12th at 155 (78-77). Raquel Flores tied for 26th (78-79) with teammate Patrizia Schaefer (79-78).

Oklahoma Christian was five shots back in third, led by Shaley Goad, who tied for third (75-76). Also in the top 10 were Felicity Wittengerg (74-79), who tied for seventh at 153, and Alex Bennett (78-76), tied for ninth at 154.

NSU tied for fourth with Harding. Hernandez shot 75 on Tuesday to finish the tournament at 147, tied for the lead.  Teammate Kaylee Petersen finished tied for ninth at 154 (77-77). Karlei Hember finished tied for 26th at 157 (81-76) while Kelly Swanson finished tied for 32nd at 158 (82-76). Nina Lee finished tied for 46th at 165 (85-80).

Oklahoma Baptist, led by Hayden Meiser’s tie for 12th, placed sixth, while Southwest Oklahoma State was seventh, led by Zoe Moton’s tie for 26th at 157 (80-77). Southern Nazarene had two golfers in the top 20 as Heidi Stafford and Bailey Blake tied for 17th at 156.

Complete scores are here.


Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

Ken MacLeod

Publisher Golf Oklahoma | Oklahoma's No. 1 Golf Source