McGraw-Coatney to join Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame in 2024

Like and Follow Golf Oklahoma

Patty McGraw-Coatney, a nine-time winner of the Women’s Oklahoma Golf Association State Amateur Championship, will be inducted into the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame in 2024. She was inducted into the second class of the Oklahoma Golf Hall of Fame in 2006.

Coatney won the state championship for the first time in 1977, followed by victories in 1979, 1980, 1981, 1986, 1988, 1990, 1991, and 2001.

The Ponca City native competed on the boys golf team in high school, then went to Oklahoma State where she was a four-year starter from 1978 to 1982.

In 2003, the University of Central Oklahoma, in Edmond, offered Coatney the opportunity of coaching the first ever women’s golf team at UCO.   In each of her first two years, the women of UCO won their conference championship, Coatney was named Coach of the Year and the teams competed in the NCAA Division 2 West Regional Championships.

Her twin brother Mike McGraw is the head coach of the Baylor men’s golf team and she is married to former Stillwater Country Club head professional Chuck Coatney. Patty and Mike are the children of Gervis and Pat McGraw, with Gervis being a long-time professional at Ponca City Country Club.

She will go into the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame with Steve Davis, Mike Metheny, Ryan Minor, Roy Williams and Shelby Wilson.

Below is the release from the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame including information on tickets to the Aug. 5 induction at the National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum and the inductee luncheon March 28 at the Jeaneen and Bob Naifeh Family & Bud Wilkinson Event Center in Oklahoma City.


The Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame is extremely proud to introduce the six inductees that will join the Hall next year as part of the Class of 2024.

Steve Davis*, Football
Patty McGraw-Coatney, Golf
Mike Metheny, Baseball
Ryan Minor, Multi-Sport
Roy Williams, Football
Shelby Wilson, Wrestling

*Inducted Posthumously

Steve Davis (Inducted Posthumously)
Steve Davis was a consensus All-State football player and a National Football Foundation Scholar Athlete at Sallisaw High School. Steve ascended to the top of The University of Oklahoma’s quarterback depth chart over his first two years and took over the Sooners’ wishbone offense in 1973. He led the Sooners to a 32-1-1 record as their starting quarterback, and won three Big Eight Conference Championships and two National Championships. Following college, Steve enjoyed an 18-year network broadcast career and worked as an executive of Tulsa-based Helmerich & Payne.Patty McGraw-Coatney
Patty McGraw-Coatney made history as the first girl to play on a junior high golf team in Ponca City. She won the Oklahoma Girls State Junior Championship twice and captured the Oklahoma Girls State High School title in 1977. While at Oklahoma State University, Patty was a two-time All Big-8 performer.  She was hired as the Head Coach of the first ever women’s golf team at the University of Central Oklahoma in 2003. Patty was named Coach of the Year in each of her first two years as head coach winning back-to-back conference championships.Mike Metheny
Mike Metheny’s 40-year career at Southeastern Oklahoma State University began as a player, then graduate assistant, then assistant coach and eventually head coach. Mike never had a losing season in 18-years coaching at the NAIA level, and he led SOSU to their lone national championship in their second season at the NCAA II level in 2000. He was named conference coach of the year nine times and regional coach of the year seven times. Mike finished his coaching career with a 1,324-679-3 (.660) record.

Ryan Minor
Ryan Minor was a standout multi-sport athlete at The University of Oklahoma, playing basketball and baseball from 1992 to 1995. In basketball, Ryan was a two-time All-American, two-time Big Eight scoring champ and Big Eight Co-Player of the Year. He also helped lead the Sooners baseball team to a championship in the 1994 College World Series. He was selected in the second round of the 1996 NBA Draft by the Philadelphia 76ers and selected in the 33rd round of the 1996 MLB Draft by the Baltimore Orioles. Ryan played in 142 Major League games during his career and then became a Minor League Baseball coach and manager.

Roy Williams
Roy Williams came to The University of Oklahoma out of Union City, California and became one of the greatest defensive backs to ever suit up for the Sooners. He won the Bronko Nagurski Trophy and Paycom Jim Thorpe Award while leading OU to their 2000 National Championship title. He finished 2001 as the Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year and a unanimous First-Team All-American. Roy was selected in the first round of the 2002 NFL Draft by the Dallas Cowboys and played seven years in Dallas where he was a five-time Pro Bowl and First-Team All-Pro selection. Roy was inducted into the National Football Foundation College Football Hall of Fame as part of their Class of 2022.

Shelby Wilson
Shelby Wilson won 3 conference titles and suffered only 3 losses while wrestling at Ponca City High School. Following high school, he attended Oklahoma State University and had a 34-2 collegiate career record, earning three Big Eight titles and two NCAA runner up finishes. Shelby captured an Olympic gold medal in the men’s freestyle lightweight, 67-kilogram division, at the Rome Olympics in 1960. He then spent 13 years coaching high school and collegiate wrestlers. Shelby was inducted into the National Wrestling Hall of Fame in 1982.

The Class of 2024 Inductees will be introduced at the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame’s Inductees Luncheon on Thursday, March 28, 2024 at the Jeaneen and Bob Naifeh Family & Bud Wilkinson Event Center. Please save the date and look forward to hearing from them for the first time as we welcome them to Oklahoma City!

Class of 2024 Inductees Luncheon
Thursday, March 28, 2024
Jeaneen and Bob Naifeh Family & Bud Wilkinson Event Center
4040 N. Lincoln Blvd., Oklahoma City, OK 73105
Media: Informal Press Conference/Interviews: 11:00 a.m. – 11:25 a.m.
Luncheon: 11:30 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.
Individual Tickets/Table Sponsorships are available for purchase here.

The Class of 2024 will be formally inducted on Monday, August 5, 2024 at the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame’s Induction Ceremony at the National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum. As one of our premier annual events, you will not want to miss the formal inductions of our Class of 2024!

Class of 2024 Induction Ceremony
Monday, August 5, 2024
National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum
1700 NE 63rd St., Oklahoma City, OK 73111
Media: Press Conference/Interviews held prior to ceremony
Induction Ceremony: 7:00 p.m. – 9:00 p.m.
Individual Tickets/Table Sponsorships are available for purchase here.

Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

Ken MacLeod

Publisher Golf Oklahoma | Oklahoma's No. 1 Golf Source