Milligan, Mikish to match power in WOGA quarterfinals

Like and Follow Golf Oklahoma

In a battle of the long ball, Kaitlin Milligan of Norman and Anna Mikish of Choctaw will meet Wednesday morning in a quarterfinal match of the 100th Women’s Oklahoma Golf Association State Amateur Championship at Meadowbrook Country Club.

Milligan, a rising sophomore at the University of Oklahoma, can overpower most golf courses with her prodigious length when on her game and has a deft touch as well. The same can be said for Mikish, who recently completed her collegiate career as an NAIA All-American at Oklahoma City University and recently won the WOGA Stroke Play Championship.

Mikish defeated Bailey Benton of Broken Arrow 7 and 6, then Melissa Eldredge of Oklahoma City 4 and 3 to roll into the quarterfinals. Milligan had a first-round bye, then dispatched Madison O’Dell of Owasso 4 and 3.

Second-seed Kate Goodwin of Tulsa also advanced with a bye and an 8 & 7 rout over Adeline Norton of Ardmore. She will face Kailey Collier of Broken Arrow Wednesday morning. Semifinal matches will be Wednesday afternoon with the finals in all flights Thursday morning.

Also moving into the quarters was Milligan’s OU teammate Sydney Youngblood of Durant as well as Class 6A state champion and Oklahoma State signee Faith Hopkins. Former champion Michaela Dierinzo of Owasso advanced as did Jennifer Tannehill of Tulsa. Complete results and pairings are below.

Women’s Oklahoma Golf Association

100th State Amateur Championship

Meadowbrook Country Club

July 23-26, 2018


1st Round Match Play, Tuesday, July 25

Championship Division

Kaitlin Milligan, Norman, Bye

Madison O’Dell, Owasso def. Elizabeth Freeman, Edmond, 1 up

Anna Mikish, Choctaw, def. Bailey Benton, Broken Arrow, 7 & 6

Melissa Eldredge, Oklahoma City, def. Kennedy Maybee, Jenks, 6 & 5

Shannen Stewart, Broken Arrow, def. Natalie Gough, Bixby, 7 & 6

Faith Hopkins, Bartlesville, def. Alyssa Wilson, Yukon, 1 up

Michaela Dierinzo, Owasso, def. Julia Dierker, Bixby, 4 & 2

Taylor Dobson, Broken Arrow, def. Heidi Stafford, Eufala, 6 & 5

Kate Goodwin, Tulsa, Bye

Adeline Norton, Ardmore, def. Bailey Blake, Edmond, 19th hole

Kailey Collier, Broken Arrow, def. Jordan Clayborn, Tahlequah, 2 up

Faith Belmear, Owasso, def. Reagan Chaney, Ardmore, 19th hole

Sydney Youngblood, Durant, def. Grace Griggs, Edmond, 4 & 3

McKenzie McCoy, Okmulgee, def. Lexi Armon, Owasso, 1 up

Jennifer Tannehill, Tulsa, def. Meg Medders, Tulsa, 5 & 3

Faith Stewart, Edmond, def. Sarah Rhinehart, Guthrie, 1 up

2nd Round Championship Matches – Tuesday p.m.

Kaitlin Milligan, Norman, def. Madison O’Dell, Owasso, 4 & 3

Anna Mikish, Choctaw, def. Melissa Eldredge, Oklahoma City, 4 & 3

Faith Hopkins, Bartlesville, def. Shannen Stewart, 7 & 6

Michaela Dierinzo, Owasso, def. Taylor Dobson, Broken Arrow, 6 & 5

Kate Goodwin, Tulsa, def. Adeline Norton, Ardmore, 8 & 7

Kailey Collier, Broken Arrow, def. Faith Belmear, Owasso, 3 & 2

Sydney Youngblood, Durant, def. McKenzie McCoy, Okmulgee, 1 up

Jennifer Tannehill, Tulsa, def. Faith Stewart, Edmond, 3 & 2

PAIRINGS – Wednesday, July 25

Championship Quarter Finals

7:30 a.m. Kaitlin Milligan/ Anna Mikish

7:39 a.m. Faith Hopkins/Michaela Dierinzo

7:48 a.m. Kate Goodwin/ Kailey Collier

7:57 a.m. Sydney Youngblood /Jennifer Tannehill

President’s Division

Marna Raburn, Bixby, Bye

Kelly Lewis, Shawnee, def. Teresa DeLarzelere,Tulsa, 4 & 3

Leigh Ann Fore, Tulsa, Bye

Chrissy Bagwell, Edmond, def. Jill Johnson, Tulsa

Flight A

Jann Fouke, Broken Arrow, def. Cindy Arnold, Oklahoma City, 6 & 4

Lori Garrison, Oklahoma City, def. Marilyn Buland, Tulsa, 5 & 4

Marsha Cooper, Tulsa, def. Glynda Jones, 4 & 3

Carolyn Martin, Stillwater, def. Susan Hall, Tulsa, 19th hole

Flight B

Diane Schmidt, Bixby, def. Judy Genzer, Glenpool, 19th hole

Kathlyn Smith, Tulsa, def. Diane Wheat, Oklahoma City, 1 up

Rebecca Morse, Oklahoma City, def. Kaye Pickering, Tulsa, 1 up

Carol Carter, Tulsa, def. Cheryl Duff, Hobart, 4 & 3

Flight C

Patty Monroe, Tulsa, Bye

Sherry Black, Tulsa, def. Rita Andersen, Tulsa, 1 up

Fran Derrick, Oklahoma City, Bye

Doris Nunnery, Broken Arrow, def. Becky Masoner, Sand Springs, 3 & 2

President’s Flight – Semifinal

9:36 a.m. Marna Raburn/Kelly Lewis

9:45 a.m. Leigh Ann Fore/Chrissy Bagwell

“A” Flight – Semifinal

8:06 a.m.   Jan Fouke/Lori Garrison

8:15 a.m. Marsha Cooper/Carolyn Martin

“B” Flight – Semifinal

8:42 a.m. Diane Schmidt/Kathlyn Smith

8:51 a.m. Rebecca Morse/Carol Carter

“C” Flight – Semifinal

9:18 a.m. Patty Monroe/Sherry Black

9:27 Fran Derrick/Doris Nunnery

“A” Flight Consolation Semifinal

8:24 a.m. Cindy Arnold/Susan Hall

8:33 Marilyn Buland/Glynda Jones

“B” Flight Consolation Semifinal

9:00 a.m. Judy Genzer/Cheryl Duff

9:09 Diane Wheat/Kaye Pickering

“C” Flight Consolation Semifinal

9:36 a.m. Rita Andersen/Becky Masoner


Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

Ken MacLeod

Publisher Golf Oklahoma | Oklahoma's No. 1 Golf Source