NSU women earn top seed for regional

Like and Follow Golf Oklahoma

INDIANAPOLIS – The No. 12-ranked Northeastern State women’s golf team has been selected to compete at the 2016 NCAA Central Super Regional, the National Collegiate Athletics Association announced Monday afternoon on NCAA.com.

The RiverHawks earned the top seed at the event and will join 11 other programs and six individuals not with a qualifying team May 2-4 at Awarii Dunes Golf Club in Axtell, Nebraska. The 54-hole tournament will be hosted by the University of Nebraska-Kearney and will determine the three representatives from the Super Regional, along with the top three individuals not with an advancing team, who will move on to the 2016 NCAA Division II Women’s Golf Championships May 18-21 at CommonGround Golf Course in Aurora, Colorado.

This marks the 15th time in the last 17 years that NSU has qualified for an NCAA Super Regional event.

Sitting directly behind the MIAA Champions is second-seeded and No. 19-ranked Augustana. No. 24 Central Oklahoma earned the third seed ahead of Arkansas Tech, and Lindenwood will be the tournament’s fifth seed.

The RiverHawks will play with the Vikings and Bronchos in the first two rounds of the event.

The conferences represented from the NCAA Central Region are the Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association (five teams), the Great American Conference (three teams) and the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Athletics Association (four teams).

The other MIAA programs that qualified for the tournament are Missouri Western State and Central Missouri.

NSU earned a final central region ranking of No. 4 last season and went on to finish fourth at the event.

Northeastern State recently captured the 2016 MIAA Championship by 20 strokes, giving the green and white its fifth tournament championship this season.

*Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in brackets next to the institution’s name.
Awarii Dunes Golf Club; Axtell, Nebraska; hosted by University of Nebraska-Kearney

Teams (Conference)
1.      Northeastern State (MIAA)
2.      Augustana (NSIC)
3.      Central Oklahoma (MIAA)
4.      Arkansas Tech (GAC)
5.      Lindenwood (MIAA)
6.      Henderson State (GAC)
7.      Southwestern Oklahoma State (GAC)
8.      Missouri Western State (MIAA)
9.      Concordia-St. Paul (NSIC)
10.    Minnesota State-Mankato (NSIC)
11.    Upper Iowa (NSIC)
12.    Central Missouri (MIAA)

1.      Katya Hoffman, Winona State
2.      Kaleigh Ashen, Northwest Missouri State
3.      Frida Rydberg, Arkansas-Monticello
4.      Lauren Johnson, Arkansas-Monticello
5.      Laurel Enstrom, St. Cloud State
6.      Helle Leed, Southern Arkansas


Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

Ken MacLeod

Publisher Golf Oklahoma | Oklahoma's No. 1 Golf Source

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *