OC’s Goodwin, Rigsby named to All-Heartland Conference team

Like and Follow Golf Oklahoma

Photo: Abigail Rigsby (left) and Kate Goodwin (right) both made the All-Heartland list.

WACO, Texas (April 25, 2019) – Oklahoma Christian’s Kate Goodwin and Abigail Rigsby both made the All-Heartland Conference women’s golf list released Thursday, the fourth time in seven years the Eagles have landed two players on the honor teams.

Both players were named to the second-team list. Goodwin, a senior from Tulsa who is the reigning NCAA Division II West Super Regional individual champion, also won twice in 2018-19, taking the individual portion of the Dallas Baptist Match Play Invitational at Prairie Lakes Golf Club in Grand Prairie, Texas (beating three first-team selections from DBU along the way) and Rogers State’s Hillcat Classic at Bailey Ranch Golf Club in Owasso, Okla.

“I am so proud of the seasons that Kate and Abi have put together,” OC coach Greg Lynn said. “Both of them won twice and have played extremely solid all year long. They have carried our team to a top-20 ranking and a berth in the NCAA Super Regional. They have a legitimate chance to earn a berth to the NCAA finals.”

Goodwin, who has five career wins – second on OC’s all-time list – made the All-Heartland list for the first time. She has a stroke average of 74.49 entering this year’s Super Regional and is ranked 63rd among Division II players.

Rigsby, a junior from Courtenay, British Columbia, made the second-team list for a third straight season after posting a stroke average of 74.84. Ranked 50th in Division II, Rigsby also won twice this season, taking medalist honors at the Oklahoma Intercollegiate at Lawton Country Club in Lawton, Okla., and the Mustang Intercollegiate at Palm Valley Golf Club in Goodyear, Ariz.

Rigsby and Goodwin led the way as the 18th-ranked Eagles spent most of the season ranked in the Women’s Golf Coaches Association’s Division II top 25 (rising as high as No. 15). OC was No. 6 in the final Division II West Super Region rankings, meaning the Eagles are assured of a spot in the NCAA postseason.

Making the Heartland’s first-team list were player of the year Ann Parmerter, Evelyn Arguelles and Hanna Harrison of No. 2-ranked Dallas Baptist and Maria Regina Gonzalez and Sofia Ruescas of No. 14 St. Mary’s (Texas).

Joining Goodwin and Rigsby on the second-team list were freshman of the year Elena Castanon and Sammy Huang of No.22 St. Edward’s (Texas) and Addison Mitchell of Dallas Baptist. Dallas Baptist’s Kenny Trapp was named as the coach of the year.


Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

Ken MacLeod

Publisher Golf Oklahoma | Oklahoma's No. 1 Golf Source