OCU’s Kaminski selected to All-Nicklaus team

Like and Follow Golf Oklahoma

FORMBY, England – Rupert Kaminski from national champion Oklahoma City University landed on the Golf Coaches Association of America’s all-Nicklaus team.

Kaminski, a freshman from Johannesburg, South Africa, garnered a spot among the 24 all-Nicklaus performers from NCAA Divisions I, II, III, NAIA and NJCAA recognized for their outstanding play during the 2015-16 collegiate season.

This season, Kaminski topped the NAIA with a 71.40 scoring average in 30 rounds while taking Nicklaus award finalist honors. Kaminski took individual titles in The Mid-South on Sept. 8-9 in Newton, Kan., the Hardscrabble Invitational on April 11-12 in Fort Smith, Ark., and the Sooner Athletic Conference Championships on April 18-19 in Fort Worth, Texas. He placed within the top 10 in eight events and became SAC freshman of the year. He buried 114 birdies and four eagles this season.

Kaminski drew recognition as a first-team all-American from the NAIA and the GCAA, all-NAIA Central Region, all-tournament in the NAIA Championships, all-SAC, SAC freshman of the year, two NAIA golfer of the week nods and two league golfer of the week awards. Kaminski’s winning score in the SAC Championships of 21-under-par 67-63-65-195 bettered the NCAA men’s golf championships record of 20-under-par 67-66-63-196 shot by Charles Howell III in 2000.

The all-Nicklaus Team was created in 2008, and is not only named for history’s greatest player but also a long-time supporter of collegiate and amateur golf. Jack Nicklaus, a Big Ten and NCAA Champion at The Ohio State University, helped inspire and create the Jack Nicklaus Award in 1988 and it is now presented to the National Player of the year in NCAA Divisions I, II and III, as well as NAIA and NJCAA.


Kaminski became OCU’s sixth all-Nicklaus performer, joining Anthony Michael in 2009, Julian Valenciana in 2010, Clark Collier in 2012, Sonmajordre Ronold in 2013 and James Marchesani in 2014.

No. 1-ranked Oklahoma City notched six tournament titles, including the SAC championship, in 2015-16. The Stars rallied from a seven-shot deficit entering the final round for the program’s 10th national title May 27 in Silvis, Ill.

OCU owns national championships won in 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2010, 2012, 2013 and 2016.


2016 All-Nicklaus Team 

Hugo Bernard, Saint Leo

Jackson Bugdalski, Indian Hills

John Coutlas, Florida Southern

Charlie Danielson, Illinois

Alistair Docherty, Chico State

Peter French, Johnson & Wales (FL)

Lee Gearhart, Chico State

Sam Horsfield, Florida

Beau Hossler, Texas

Rupert Kaminski, Oklahoma City

Connor Klein, South Mountain

ddison Lambeth, Huntingdon

Logan Lanier, LaGrange

Marco Maldonado, Tyler

Lee McCoy, Georgia

Maverick McNealy, Stanford

Matthew NeSmith, South Carolina

Jon Rahm, Arizona State

Matthias Schwab, Vanderbilt

Robby Shelton, Alabama

Kerry Sweeney, Eastern Florida State

Andrew Williamson, Wayland Baptist

Alex Wrenn, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps

Aaron Wise, Oregon


OCU’s All-Nicklaus Selections

Clark Collier, 2012

Rupert Kaminski, 2016

James Marchesani, 2014

Anthony Michael, 2009

Sondre Ronold, 2013

Julian Valenciana, 2010

Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

Ken MacLeod

Publisher Golf Oklahoma | Oklahoma's No. 1 Golf Source

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *