Olmstead honored by USGA with Ike Grainger Award for service

Like and Follow Golf Oklahoma

Southern Hills member Randy Olmstead received the Ike Grainger Award for 25 years of distinguished service at the United States Golf Association (USGA) annual Service Awards during a gala dinner at the Waldorf Astoria Hotel in New York City.

Hosted by Golf World senior writer and television analyst Tim Rosaforte, the USGA Service Awards Dinner celebrates the leadership, selfless dedication and outstanding contributions of 19 individuals who have used their time and talents to serve and promote the game.

"Our honorees have all made significant contributions to the game of golf and the USGA’s commitment to its future," said Tom O’Toole Jr., USGA president. "We are proud to recognize their contributions with this special evening and to celebrate their efforts during a time when the Association brings the golf community together."

The Service Awards Dinner consolidates the presentation of many of the USGA’s volunteer accolades into a single event. The Green Section Award, the Joe Dey Award, Ike Grainger Award and Herbert Warren Wind Book Award were presented at the event. The USGA’s highest honor, the Bob Jones Award, will be presented to Barbara Nicklaus at a ceremony during the week of the 115th U.S. Open Championship, which will be contested June 18-21, 2015, at Chambers Bay in University Place, Wash.
The following individuals were recognized at the USGA Service Awards Dinner:

Dr. David Cookson, Joe Dey Award
Presented annually since 1996, the Joe Dey Award recognizes an individual’s meritorious service to the game as a volunteer. The award is named for the late Joseph C. Dey Jr., who served as USGA executive director for 35 years (1934-1969) before becoming the first commissioner of the PGA Tour.

This year’s honoree, Dr. David Cookson, is a doctor of internal medicine who has served as a Rules official for nearly 90 USGA championships, including 25 U.S. Opens, and numerous USGA qualifying events. A USGA committee member from 1983 to 2011, he served on the Regional Affairs, Nominating and Senior Amateur Championship committees during his tenure.

Beyond his dedication to the USGA and regional golf activities, Cookson has provided extraordinary volunteer service to other organizations. A member of the Wisconsin State Golf Association (WSGA) Board of Directors since 1970, Cookson served as its president in 1977 and 1978. He also served on the Western Golf Association’s Board of Governors from 1977-1998. Cookson received the President’s Distinguished Service Award from the WSGA in 1993, thanks in part to his contributions to the renovation of the University of Wisconsin Evans Scholars House in Madison. He was elected to the WSGA Hall of Fame in 2006.

James R. Hansen, Herbert Warren Wind Book Award
Established in 1987, the Herbert Warren Wind Book Award recognizes and honors outstanding contributions to golf literature while seeking to broaden the public’s interest in, and knowledge of, the game of golf. Wind, who died in 2005, was a renowned writer for The New Yorker and Sports Illustrated who coined the phrase "Amen Corner" at Augusta National Golf Club. He is the only writer to win the Bob Jones Award, the USGA’s highest honor.

James R. Hansen’s A Difficult Par: Robert Trent Jones Sr. and the Making of Modern Golf, a reflection on the life and career of one of the most prolific, well-respected and transformational figures in the history of golf, is this year’s award recipient. Jones designed or redesigned nearly 450 courses in 42 states and 28 countries, including 11 courses that have hosted a combined 34 U.S. Opens. With the help and cooperation of Jones’ sons, Robert Jr. and Rees, who shared letters, documents and personal stories of their father, Hansen pieced together the life events and struggles that the British-born Jones encountered on the way to creating his legacy.

Dr. Patricia J. Vittum, Green Section Award 
Presented annually since 1961, the USGA Green Section Award recognizes an individual’s distinguished service to the game of golf through his or her work with turfgrass, including research, maintenance and other areas that positively impact the landscape upon which golf is played.

The 2015 recipient is Dr. Patricia J. Vittum, of Amherst, Mass., a professor at the University of Massachusetts’ Stockbridge School of Agriculture. A recognized industry leader, she has conducted significant research on the biology and management of turfgrass insects and the effectiveness of biological-control methods. She is the principal author of the second edition of Turfgrass Insects of the United States and Canada, which is widely regarded as the leading publication on turf entomology. She also co-authored the Handbook of Integrated Pest Management for Golf Courses.

Ike Grainger Award
Established in 1995 as part of the USGA’s Centennial Celebration, the Ike Grainger Award recognizes those volunteers who reach 25 years of service to the Association. Grainger served on the USGA Executive Committee and served as USGA president in 1954 -and 1955.

This year, 16 individuals earned the award for their distinguished service to the USGA including Southern Hills CC member Randy Olmstead and Jay Fox, executive director of the Arkansas State Golf Association. Olmstead is on the Mid-Amateur Championship Committee while Fox serves on the Regional Associations Committee.

Barbara Simmons, Scottsdale, Ariz.    Senior Women’s Amateur Championship  Committee
Bo Links, San Francisco, Calif.    Green Section Committee    
Bob J. Thomas, Elmsford, N.Y.    Regional Associations Committee
C. Layne Williams, Marietta, Ga.     Mid-Amateur Championship Committee
Ed Thaney, Rochester, N.Y.     Regional Affairs Committee Senior Amateur Championship Committee
Jay Fox, Little Rock, Ark.         Regional Associations Committee
Jerry Pate, Pensacola, Fla.    Green Section Committee
John M. Reed, Georgetown, Ky.     Mid-Amateur Championship Committee
Judy Thompson, Kent, Wash.    Regional Affairs Committee
Merilee M. Giddings, Peachtree City, Ga.     Girls’ Junior Championship Committee
Peter C. Blaisdell, Keene, N.H.     Green Section Committee
Randy Olmstead, Tulsa, Okla.     Mid-Amateur Championship Committee
Renee M. Powell, East Canton, Ohio     Girls’ Junior Championship Committee
Timothy A. Gamso. Dallas, Texas     Mid-Amateur Championship Committee
William A. Westerfeld, Rochester, N.Y.     Museum Committee
William Anderson, Charlotte, N.C.     Green Section Committee


Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

Ken MacLeod

Publisher Golf Oklahoma | Oklahoma's No. 1 Golf Source

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *