OSU looks to defend Big 12 Championship

Like and Share this post

Oklahoma State’s women’s golf team will look to defend its league title when it begins play this week at the Big 12 Championship at the UT Golf Club in Austin, Texas.

The Cowgirls enter as the event’s No. 2 seed and will be grouped with top-seeded Oklahoma and No. 3 seed Iowa State for Friday’s first round. Tee times will begin at 8 a.m. The 54-hole event will also consist of 18 holes on Saturday as well as Sunday’s final round.
The Cowgirl starting five will feature three seniors in Lauren Falley, Jayde Panos and Amy Ruengmateekhun as well as sophomore Julie Yang and freshman Isabella Deilert.
OSU won its eighth Big 12 crown last season at The Harvester in Rhodes, Iowa. The Cowgirls most recent title prior to last year came in 2009 at The Rawls Course in Lubbock, Texas. OSU first won the event in 1999 in Boulder, Colo. The Cowgirls then reeled off three consecutive championships starting with their victory in 2001 at The Harvester. After winning the 2002 tourney in Manhattan, Kan., OSU closed out its string with its triumph in Columbia, Mo. in 2003. The Cowgirls won the 2005 title in Austin, Texas before claiming the 2008 title on their home course, Karsten Creek, in Stillwater.
OSU has been as successful in the individual Big 12 race as it has been in the team race, having seven players claim medalist honors during the history of the event. In 1999, Maria Bodén became the first Cowgirl to win the event and regained the title in 2001. Emma Zackrisson grabbed top honors in 2002, while Annie Thurman followed two years later with back-to-back victories in 2004 and 2005. Jaclyn Sweeney won the event in 2008 before Caroline Hedwall took top honors in 2010 to become the school’s most recent champion.
Live scoring for the event will be available at golfstat.com.

Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

Ken MacLeod

Publisher Golf Oklahoma | Oklahoma's No. 1 Golf Source

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.