OSU’s Neergaard-Petersen named to Ben Hogan Award watch list

Like and Follow Golf Oklahoma

FORT WORTH – Oklahoma State’s Rasmus Neergaard-Petersen was among those included on the watch list for the 2023 Ben Hogan Award it was announced today by the Hogan Trophy Award Foundation, the Friends of Golf and the Golf Coaches Association of America. 

The Ben Hogan Award is presented annually to the top men’s NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or NJCAA college golfer based on all collegiate, amateur and professional events over the previous 12 months. 

Neergaard-Petersen, a fifth-year standout from Nivå, Denmark, has been named an All-America Scholar on three occasions. Last season, he picked up his first career victory at the General Hackler Championship and was a member of the International side at the 2022 Palmer Cup. 

Additionally, he made the cut at the Korn Ferry Tour’s 2021 Evans Scholars Invitational and was runner-up at the 2020 Western Amateur Championship.

This year’s list of 10 semifinalists, which could include individuals not on the watch list, will be unveiled Friday, April 14. That group will be pared down to three finalists on Thursday, May 4. The finalists will attend a black-tie dinner Monday, May 22, at Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas, where the winner will be crowned. 

An esteemed selection committee votes during each stage of the process. The selection committee is comprised of more than 30 leaders in collegiate, amateur and professional golf. 

The Ben Hogan Award has honored the outstanding amateur collegiate golfer at Colonial Country Club since 2002. Prior to its move to Fort Worth, the original Ben Hogan Trophy, which was awarded based on a different list of criteria, was issued at Bel-Air Country Club in Los Angeles beginning in 1990.

Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

Ken MacLeod

Publisher Golf Oklahoma | Oklahoma's No. 1 Golf Source