OU’s Cummins, OSU’s Wolff, Bauchou and Hovland on Ben Hogan Award watch list

Like and Follow Golf Oklahoma

Oklahoma redshirt junior Quade Cummins and Oklahoma State’s Zach Bauchou, Viktor Hovland and Matthew Wolff have been named to the watch list for the 2019 Ben Hogan Award.

The Ben Hogan Award presented by Konica Minolta Business Solutions U.S.A., Inc. (Konica Minolta) is given annually to the top men’s NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or NJCAA college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during a 12-month period from June to May.

Cummins, a PING Honorable Mention All-American last season, posted a 70.00 stroke average during the fall season and earned a runner-up finish at the Ka’anapali Classic with a three-round 198 (-15). His 54-hole total at the event was the third-lowest ever by a Sooner.

The Weatherford, Okla., native also won the Sun Bowl All-America Classic in November, using a final round 62 (-9) to force a playoff where he earned the event title.

Bauchou was tabbed as a second-team All-American a year ago as well as a member of the U.S. Palmer Cup squad. He was also a semifinalist for the Jack Nicklaus Award and appeared on the Fred Haskins Award watch list. This past summer, he won the Canadian Amateur Championship for the second year in a row.

The Forest, Va., native was also in the field last year at the PGA Tour’s RBC Canadian Open and the Mayakoba Golf Classic as well as the Emirates Australian Open. Bauchou is currently No. 13 in the World Amateur Golf Ranking.

Hovland earned first-team All-America status last season and was a member of the International Palmer Cup squad. The Oslo, Norway native earned his first career victory at the Valspar Collegiate last spring and became the fifth Cowboy to win the U.S. Amateur Championship, doing so last summer at Pebble Beach. This fall, he shared medalist honors with Wolff at the Royal Oaks Intercollegiate and won the East Lake Cup as well.

Last summer, Hovland competed at the European Tour’s Porsche European Open as well as the PGA Tour’s Mayakoba Golf Classic and the Emirates Australian Open where he tied for 13thplace. In January, he made a start at the PGA Tour’s Farmers Insurance Open. Hovland is currently No. 4 in the World Amateur Golf Ranking.

Wolff was also named a first-team All-American and garnered the Phil Mickelson Award as the nation’s top freshman last season. He represented the U.S. at the Palmer Cup this past summer. The Agoura Hills, Calif., native earned his first collegiate victory this past fall at The Carmel Cup and has claimed medalist honors at all four of the Cowboys’ full-field events this year. He also emerged victorious at the Fighting Illini Invitational, the Royal Oaks Intercollegiate and the Amer Ari Invitational.

This year’s list of 10 semifinalists, which could include individuals not on the watch list, will be unveiled on Wednesday, April 17. On Thursday, May 2, that group will be pared down to three finalists. The finalists will attend a black-tie dinner at Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas, on Monday, May 20, prior to the start of the PGA TOUR’s Charles Schwab Challenge, where the winner will be crowned.

The Ben Hogan Award Selection Committee votes during each stage of the process. It is comprised of leaders in collegiate, amateur and professional golf. The Ben Hogan Trophy was first issued in 1990 and also included academic achievement in its original list of standards. In 2002, the Ben Hogan Award moved to Fort Worth, Texas, and revised its criteria to its current standard of honoring the outstanding amateur collegiate golfer.

Ben Hogan Award winners have combined to accumulate 41 PGA TOUR victories and more than $200 million in prize money. Six winners are currently ranked in the top 100 in the Official World Golf Rankings-Jon Rahm, Rickie Fowler, Patrick Cantlay, Kyle Stanley, Ryan Moore and Peter Uihlein. Other recipients include: Ricky Barnes, Matt Every, Doug Ghim, Bill Haas, Chris Kirk, Hunter Mahan, Maverick McNealy, Patrick Rodgers, Nick Taylor, D.J. Trahan and Chris Williams.

Watch List Candidates
Zach Bauchou, Oklahoma State, Sr., Forest, Va.
Callum Bruce, Midland College, So., Banff, Scotland
Quade Cummins, Oklahoma, Jr., Weatherford, Okla.
Chandler Eaton, Duke, Jr., Alpharetta, Ga.
Steven Fisk, Georgia Southern, Sr., Stockbridge, Ga.
Stephen Franken, NC State, Sr., Raleigh, N.C.
Luis Gagne, LSU, Sr., Orlando, Fla.
Will Gordon, Vanderbilt, Sr., Davidson, N.C.
Will Grimmer, Ohio State, Sr., Cincinnati, Ohio
Cole Hammer, Texas, Fr., Houston, Texas
Viktor Hovland, Oklahoma State, Jr., Oslo, Norway
Philip Knowles, North Florida, Sr., Bradenton, Fla.
Peter Kuest, BYU, Jr., Fresno, Calif.
Brandon Mancheno, Auburn, So., Jacksonville, Fla.
Collin Morikawa, California, Sr., La Canada Flintridge, Calif.
Bryson Nimmer, Clemson, Sr., Bluffton, S.C.
Chandler Phillips, Texas A&M, Sr., Huntsville, Texas
Trent Phillips, Georgia, Fr., Inman, S.C.
Peng Pichaikool, Mississippi State, Jr., Bangkok, Thailand
Isaiah Salinda, Stanford, Sr., South San Francisco, Calif.
Matthias Schmid, Louisville, So., Maxhvette, Germany
Luke Schniederjans, Georgia Tech, Jr., Powder Springs, Ga.
Alex Smalley, Duke, Sr., Wake Forest, N.C.
Tyler Strafaci, Georgia Tech, Jr., Davie, Fla.
Justin Suh, Southern California, Sr., San Jose, Calif.
Matthew Wolff, Oklahoma State, So., Agoura Hills, Calif.
Brandon Wu, Stanford, Sr., New York, N.Y.
Chun An Yu, Arizona State, Jr., Taoyuan, Taiwan


Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

Ken MacLeod

Publisher Golf Oklahoma | Oklahoma's No. 1 Golf Source