UCO’s Souvannasing is second-team All-America, Price earns honorable mention, Varner is regional coach of year

Like and Follow Golf Oklahoma

Central Oklahoma’s Marla Souvannasing was a second-team selection on the Women’s Golf Coaches Association NCAA Division II All-America Team that was released Friday.
It’s the second straight year for Souvannasing to earn second-team All-America accolades.
The sophomore standout from Tulsa had a 74.58 scoring average for 26 rounds during the 2015-16 season, finishing in the top 20 in all 12 tournaments.  She had nine top-10 showings and won four tournaments for the second consecutive season.
Souvannasing has placed in the top 10 in 20 of 25 tournaments during her two-year career with the Bronchos.

 Baylee Price was honored as a 2016 WGCA All-American Honorable Mention, the Women’s Golf Coaches Association of America announced Friday morning. Scott Varner was also selected as the 2016 WGCA Central Region Coach of the Year.

The junior member of the Northeastern State women’s golf team became the sixth player in school history and the first since 2011 to land All-American distinction. Varner picked up his fourth career regional coach of the year accolade.

Price, a native of Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, finished the season eighth in the nation and first in the region in scoring average (74.6). She won a school record four tournaments this year, including her second MIAA Championship. She was selected as the 2016 MIAA Player of the Year and also landed on the 2016 WGCA All-Central Region First Team and the 2016 All-MIAA First Team.

 Varner led the RiverHawks to one of the most successful seasons in school history. They won a school-record five tournaments, while also finishing runner-up in four other events. He led NSU to eighth in the nation after dominating all Central Region opponents at the 2016 NCAA Championship. NSU also won the 2016 MIAA Championship and finished second at the 2016 NCAA Central Super Regional. For his efforts, he was selected as the 2016 MIAA Coach of the Year.


PING WGCA Division II Player of the Year
Isabel Jimenez-Perea, Tarleton State University

WGCA Division II Co-Freshmen of the Year
Tilda Larsson, Barry University
Ann Parmerter, Dallas Baptist University

WGCA Division II Kim Moore Spirit Award
Ashtyn Brown, University of Indianapolis

Division II Golf Pride WGCA National Coach of the Year
Julie Garner, Rollins College

Division II Golf Pride Regional Coaches of the Year
South Region Coach of the Year: Julie Garner, Rollins College
Central Region Coach of the Year: Scott Varner, Northeastern State University
East Region Coach of the Year: Brent Nicoson, University of Indianapolis
West Region Coach of the Year: Jerry Doyle, Tarleton State University

 WGCA Division II All-American Teams
First Team

Aldana Foigel, Freshman, Nova Southeastern University
Hally Leadbetter, RS Senior, Rollins College
Felicia Leftinger, Senior, Florida Institute of Technology
Tilda Larsson, Freshman, Barry University
Ann Parmerter, Freshman, Dallas Baptist University
Isabel Jimenez-Perea, Senior, Tarleton State University
Kasey Petty, Senior, University of Findlay
Gabrielle Shipley, Senior, Grand Valley State University
Lexie Toth, Sophomore, Rollins College
Elaine Wood, Junior, University of Montevallo


Second Team
Marie Coors, Junior, Saint Leo University
Annie Dulman, Senior, Rollins College
Nicky Ferre, Senior, Barry University
Katharina Keilich, Freshman, University of Indianapolis
Brittany LaPadula, Junior, Florida Institute of Technology
Paige Lyle, Junior, Rollins College
Guro Rambjoer, Junior, Florida Institute of Technology
Marla Souvannasing, Sophomore, University of Central Oklahoma
Marisa Toivonen, Junior, Augustana University
Paloma Vaccaro, Sophomore, University of West Florida


Honorable Mention
Kelly Contreras, Sophomore, St. Mary’s University
Paxton DeHaven, Sophomore, University of Indianapolis
Vilde Eriksen, Sophomore, Saint Leo University
Maria Paola Fioro, Senior, Barry University
Jamie Freedman, Sophomore, Nova Southeastern University
Amanda Jakobsson, Sophomore, Saint Leo University
Glory Jangthongsiri, Senior, West Texas A&M University
Lauren Lamm, Junior, University of West Florida
Sophie Madden, Freshman, Nova Southeastern University
Marvi Monsalve, Junior, California Baptist University
Beatriz Prados, Junior, Tarleton State University
Baylee Price, Junior, Northeastern State University
Casey Wild, Sophomore, Tarleton State University
Sydney Williams, Senior, Dallas Baptist University

Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

Ken MacLeod

Publisher Golf Oklahoma | Oklahoma's No. 1 Golf Source

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *