Baumgartner seeks to become 10th OSU NCAA Championship medalist

Like and Follow Golf Oklahoma

PHOENIXOklahoma State’s Jonas Baumgartner will be looking to become the 10th Cowboy to capture medalist honors at the NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Championship when action gets underway this week at Grayhawk Golf Club.

The 72-hole stroke play portion of the event will begin on Friday and conclude with the fourth round on Monday at the par-70, 7,289-yard layout. Baumgartner will begin play on Friday at 1:42 p.m. (PST) and will be grouped with Indiana’s Drew Salyers.and Loyola Marymount’s Riley Lewis.

Baumgartner enters play having earned top-five finishes in his last three starts. Last month, the junior led OSU to the team title at the Mountaineer Invitational while garnering medalist honors for the first time as a Cowboy. Baumgartner followed with a runner-up showing at the Big 12 Championship with a 273 total that included a 64 during his second round.

He advanced to the championship event after tying for fifth place at the NCAA Las Vegas Regional with a 201 total after signing for rounds of 70, 68 and 63.

In addition to OSU’s 11 NCAA team titles, the Cowboys have produced nine individual national champions. 

Earl Moeller was OSU’s first individual champion in 1953 and was followed by Grier Jones in 1968. David Edwards won in 1978 and was followed by Scott Verplank, Brian Watts and E.J. Pfister, who won consecutively from 1986-88. Charles Howell won in record-setting fashion in 2000 and was the program’s seventh national champion. Jonathan Moore won in 2006 and Matthew Wolff took top honors in 2019.

Live scoring for this year’s event will be available at Golf Channel coverage will begin Monday at 4 p.m. (CST).

Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

Ken MacLeod

Publisher Golf Oklahoma | Oklahoma's No. 1 Golf Source