Bell, Tseng, Roberts, Moberg earn first-team awards

Like and Follow Golf Oklahoma

PROVIDENCE, RI – The University of Tulsa freshman golfer Lorena Tseng was named to the American Athletic Conference all-conference team, it was announced today by the league office.

Tseng’s team-best 71.9 stroke average in 30 rounds is the best for any Tulsa golfer in the 45-year history of the program. Four-time All-American Stacy Prammanasudh had a 72.1 average in 33 rounds in the 2001-02 season, while LPGA Hall of Famer Nancy Lopez tallied a 72.5 stroke average in 21 rounds during 1976-77 campaign.

Tseng had 10 sub-70 rounds as well as 16 rounds of even-par or below this season.

“Lorena is very deserving of being named all-conference. She came in from day one and set a standard of hard work. I believe it is just the beginning of great things that we are going to see from Lorena here at TU,” said Tulsa head coach Annie Young.

Tseng burst onto the scene by finishing in fourth-place and leading Tulsa to the team title in her first collegiate event, the season-opening Hobble Creek Fall Classic.

She continued her strong play by finishing among the top-10 in Tulsa’s next three tournaments, including medalist honors at the Las Vegas Collegiate Showdown. Tseng carded rounds of 69-69-65 to tie a school record with a 13-under par 203 score at the Las Vegas event. She became the first Tulsa freshman since Kristina Merkle (2009-10) to place among the top-5 in her first two collegiate events, thus becoming just the fifth player in the tradition-rich Tulsa golf history to finish among the top-5 in their first two collegiate events.

During the fall season, Tseng became just the second golfer in American Athletic Conference history to sweep the league’s Golfer of the Month honor, winning the award in back-to-back months, September and October.

On the year, Tseng placed among the top-15 in eight of 10 tournaments, including seven top-10 finishes. Her top-10 finishes included one 1st place finish, one 2nd place, two-third place performances, one 4th place, a 9th and 10th place finish.

ORU’s Sarah Bell earns first-team honors, Garcia, Caamal on second team

NEWTON, Kan. – A trio of Golden Eagles were honored, Saturday, as The Summit League unveiled its 2018-19 Women’s Golf First and Second All-League teams at the championship banquet held at the Meridian Center. A vote of the league’s nine head coaches determined both teams.

Freshman Sarah Bell was named to the first team after boasting a 73.5 stroke average and five top-10 finishes during her first collegiate season. Junior Beatriz Garcia and freshman Isabella Caamal were each named to the second team. Bell ranks third in the league in scoring average, while Garcia and Caamal are sixth and seventh, respectively. Caamal recorded two of three top-10 finishes down the backstretch of the season while Garcia enters the Championship coming off medalist honors at the Kansas City Intercollegiate, which were the first of the junior’s career.

Oral Roberts had three selected to the first and second teams for the first time since 2012 when the Golden Eagles had two first team and two second team selections.

Denver, who topped the league with a 298.2 scoring average in 2018-19, led the way with four selections, including three first-teamers. ORU enters the championship second in scoring average at 300.3, but is coming off a first place finish at the Kansas City Intercollegiate in which the Golden Eagles shot 292-288-299.

2018-19 Women’s Golf All-League Teams

First Team
Sarah Bell, Fr., Oral Roberts
Camille Enright, Jr., Denver
Sophie Newlove, Sr., Denver
Teresa Toscano, Jr., South Dakota State
Mary Weinstein, Jr., Denver

Second Team
Alyson Bean, Fr., Denver
Isabella Caamal, Fr., Oral Roberts
Beatriz Garcia, Jr., Oral Roberts
Emma Groom, Sr., North Dakota State
Taylor McCorkle, So., North Dakota State

Moberg, Hernandez, Roberts are All-MIAA

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Ebba Moberg earned her fourth career All-MIAA First Team selection to highlight four postseason honors for the NSU women’s golf program. The University of Central Oklahoma’s Sydney Roberts was also a first-team selection.

Moberg is the second-ranked golfer in the Central Region and has six top-10 finishes in nine events this season.  The NSU senior had a 76.11 stroke average with four rounds this season that was under-par.

Freshman Aitana Hernandez joined Moberg as a First Team selection after recording four top-10 finishes, and she is the third-ranked golfer in the Central Region.

Lexi Armon is a Second Team Selection and has been named All-MIAA three times.  Kelsey Lumpkin was on the Honorable Mention list and is also a three-time All-MIAA selection.

Sydney Roberts earned first-team honors to lead four Central Oklahoma players recognized on the All-Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association women’s golf team.

Madison O’Dell was a second-team selection, while Makena Mucciaccio and Faith Stewart were honorable mention picks.

Roberts, a junior from Brownwood, Texas, carries a 77.90 scoring average for the year.  A second-team All-MIAA pick the last two years, she’s finished in the top 20 in seven of 10 tournaments.

O’Dell has put together a consistent year with top-30 finishes in all 10 tournaments, including five in the top 20.  The freshman from Owasso has a 77.81 scoring average.

Stewart, a freshman from Oklahoma City, has a 77.90 average with six top-20 showings.  A senior from Goddard, Kan., Mucciaccio has a 79.0 average with four top-20 finishes.

2018-19 All-MIAA Women’s Golf Awards and Teams

Player of the Year: Shi Qing Ong – Missouri Western
Freshman of the Year: Rosie Klauser – Central Missouri
Coach of the Year: Chris Port – Central Missouri

First-Team All-MIAA
Olivia Sobaski – Central Missouri
Sydney Roberts – Central Oklahoma
Hannah Perkins – Fort Hays State
Shi Qing Ong – Missouri Western
Ebba Moberg – Northeastern State
Aitana Hernandez – Northeastern State
Reflects Tie In Voting

Second-Team All-MIAA
Rosie Klausner – Central Missouri
Madison O’Dell – Central Oklahoma
Josefina Haupt – Lindenwood
Chong Yong – Missouri Western
Nia Station – Nebraska Kearney
Lexi Armon – Northeastern State
Reflects Tie In Voting

All-MIAA Honorable Mention
Central Oklahoma – Makena Mucciaccio, Faith Stewart
Lindenwood – Natalie Long, Dakota Limkemann
Nebraska Kearney – Danielle Dickerson
Northeastern State – Kelsey Lumpkin
Northwest Missouri – Morgan Thiele


Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

Ken MacLeod

Publisher Golf Oklahoma | Oklahoma's No. 1 Golf Source