Clark is Big 12 Player of the Year, Cowboys land four, Sooners one on All-Big 12 team

Like and Share this post

The 2014 Big 12 men’s golf postseason awards have been announced.

Oklahoma State’s Wyndham Clark becomes the 11th Cowboy golfer to earn the Big 12 Player of the Year honor. The Denver, Colorado, native enters the post-season as the nation’s ninth-ranked player. He leads the Cowboys with a 70.83 stroke average this season. Clark recorded six top-five finishes and 11 rounds shooting in the 60s.

Texas’ Beau Hossler becomes the eighth overall and fifth-straight Longhorn to claim the Big 12 Newcomer of the Year. Hossler tied-for-third at his first Big 12 Championship after shooting a 288 at the 72-hole event. The freshman posted 14 sub-par rounds on the year.

The Big 12 Player and Newcomer of the Year are automatically selected as the highest ranked individual from the Golfweek/Sagarin rankings following the league championship.

Texas head coach John Fields was named Big 12 Coach of the Year, as voted by the league’s coaches for the second-straight year.  The Longhorns recorded six top-five finishes on the season, including claiming the title at the Big 12 Championship.

Leading the way on the All-Big 12 Team was Oklahoma State with four representatives. Clark, Ian Davis, Talor Gooch and Jordan Niebrugge make up the list for the Cowboys. Texas placed Toni Hakula, Kramer Hickok and Hossler on the squad.

Baylor, Oklahoma and TCU had one honoree apiece with Kyle Jones, Michael Gellerman and Big 12 individual champion, Julien Brun, respectively. The team was identified using the top 10 highest-ranked golfers according to the Golfweek/Sagarin rankings following the Big 12 Championship.

Selections for the NCAA Regionals will be announced Monday, May 5 from 10-11 a.m. CT during Morning Drive, Golf Channel’s daily morning news and lifestyle show.

All-Big  12 Team
Kyle Jones, Baylor
Michael Gellerman, Oklahoma
Wyndham Clark, Oklahoma State
Ian Davis, Oklahoma State
Talor Gooch, Oklahoma State
Jordan Niebrugge, Oklahoma State

Julien Brun, TCU
Toni Hakula, Texas
Kramer Hickok, Texas
Beau Hossler, Texas

Player of the Year
Wyndham Clark, Oklahoma State

Newcomer of the Year
Beau Hossler, Texas

Coach of the Year
John Fields, Texas


Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

Ken MacLeod

Publisher Golf Oklahoma | Oklahoma's No. 1 Golf Source

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.