Herman, Manly, Hennessee, Kalapura compete in Junior PGA Championship in Hot Springs

Like and Follow Golf Oklahoma

2023 Field | Fact Sheet

HOT SPRINGS, Ark.  — Fresh off a convincing victory in the Talor Gooch Foundation Junior Championship at Gaillardia, Jenks sensation Lisa Herman will take aim at a bigger prize in the 47th Junior PGA Championship at Hot Springs Country Club in Hot Springs, Arkansas.

The 72-hole event is Tuesday through Friday and will feature 312 players—156 girls, 156 boys—playing concurrently on the club’s Arlington and Park Courses. The Junior PGA Championships are open to players who are no older than 18 years of age on August 4, and all contestants must have qualified through a PGA Section Championship or have been granted an exemption into the field.

The top female junior golfers will compete for the Patty Berg Trophy. The girls division features five of the top 10 junior players, according to the Rolex AJGA Rankings, highlighted by No. 2 Gianna Clemente, No. 3 Anna Davis (2021 Junior PGA Champion) and No. 4 Yana Wilson.

The top male junior golfers competing for the Jack Nicklaus Trophy feature seven of the top 15 junior players, including No. 2 Jay Leng Jr., No. 4 Blades Brown and No. 6 Nicholas Gross.

Included in the two fields are 114 golfers committed to play at the collegiate level, as well as 17 players from the host South Central PGA Section and 10 Arkansas natives.

In addition to Herman, players from Oklahoma in the field include Benton Manly of Tulsa, Will Hennessee of Tulsa and Megan Kalapura of Tulsa.

Players from the South Central PGA Section in the Field (17):

  • Emmerson Doyle, Cabot, Ark.

  • Joe Duke, Benton, Ark.

  • Will Gordon, Hot Springs, Ark.

  • Will Hennessee, Tulsa, Okla.

  • Lisa Herman, Jenks, Okla.

  • Brode Horton, Royal, Ark.

  • Maggie Huett, Hot Springs, Ark.

  • Jaden Johnson, Hot Springs, Ark.

  • Megan Kalapura, Tulsa, Okla.

  • Benton Manly, Tulsa, Okla.

  • Jackson McLaughlin, Little Rock, Ark.

  • Keaton Michael, El Dorado, Ark.

  • Anna Kate Nichols, Little Rock, Ark.

  • Avery Schartz, Wichita, Kan.

  • Emerie Schartz, Wichita, Kan.

  • Presli Webb, Conway, Ark.

  • Asher Whitaker, Wichita, Kan.

Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

Ken MacLeod

Publisher Golf Oklahoma | Oklahoma's No. 1 Golf Source