Kaminski makes finalist list for Nicklaus player of the year

Like and Follow Golf Oklahoma

NORMAN, Okla. – Rupert Kaminski from top-ranked Oklahoma City University became an NAIA Jack Nicklaus player of the year award finalist for the third year in a row.

Kaminski, a junior from Johannesburg, South Africa, took finalist acclaim alongside S.M. Lee of Dalton State (Ga.), Alex Dutkowski from Taylor (Ind.), Texas Wesleyan’s Rowan Lester and Andrew Williamson of Wayland Baptist (Texas).

The NAIA Nicklaus player of the year will be announced May 31. The winner will be presented the award during The Memorial Tournament at Muirfield Village Golf Club in Dublin, Ohio by Nicklaus. The award winner will compete in the Barbasol Shootout on June 2 at the Scioto Country Club in Columbus, Ohio, for an exemption into the PGA TOUR’s Barbasol Championship on July 16-22 in Lexington, Ky.

Lee collected the award last year. OCU has had three previous player of the year award winners – Daniel Mitchell in 2007, Sondre Ronold in 2013 and James Marchesani in ’14.

Kaminski earned medalist honor twice this season. He placed second in his last event in the Sooner Athletic Conference Championships on April 23-24 at Gaillardia Country Club in Oklahoma City to garner all-tournament honors. He is a three-time all-SAC performer. Kaminski has seven top-five finishes and only placed outside the top 10 once in 12 tournaments this season.

In 2017-18, Kaminski ranks fourth in the NAIA with a 70.86 stroke average. Kaminski owns two victories this season as well as the Stars’ career record for wins with nine.

OCU competes in the NAIA Championships from May 15-18 at TPC Deere Run in Silvis, Ill. The Stars captured national titles in 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2010, 2012, 2013 and 2016.


Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )