OC Eagles nab third seed in Division II West Super Regional

Like and Follow Golf Oklahoma

INDIANAPOLIS (April 26, 2021) – For the third time in six seasons, Oklahoma Christian is headed to the NCAA Division II women’s golf postseason.

OC was picked as the No. 3 seed in the Division II West Super Regional, the field for which was announced Monday by the NCAA. The 54-hole tournament is scheduled for May 3-5 at Wildhorse Golf Club at Robson Ranch in Denton, Texas. The Eagles are quite familiar with the course, having played tournaments there last fall and in fall 2019.

The Eagles previously qualified for the NCAA postseason as a team in 2016 and 2019, advancing to the NCAA Division II Championship the latter year. This year’s regionals were limited to nine teams instead of the usual 12 due to the COVID-19 pandemic, which also resulted in the cancellation of the 2020 NCAA postseason.

The top three teams in each of four Super Regional tournaments, along with the top three individuals not with a qualifying team, will qualify for the Division II Championship, set to be played May 11-15 at TPC Michigan in Dearborn, Mich.

“I am proud of our players for putting in the hard work to make it back to the postseason,” OC coach Greg Lynn said. “They have played well this semester and have beaten some good teams. We look forward to having the chance to compete to try and make it to Michigan.”

For OC senior Abigail Rigsby of Courtenay, British Columbia, this will be her third trip to the NCAA postseason, as she also qualified as an individual in 2017 as well as with the team in 2019. Two other starters from the 2019 team, junior Shaley Goad of Wheeler, Texas, and sophomore Alexandria Bennett of Plano, Texas, are on the current squad.

Freshmen Wilma Merenmies of Jyvaskyla, Finland, and Camilla Jarvela of Espoo, Finland, round out the Eagles’ starting lineup.

The West Super Regional field, in order of seed, will consist of Lone Star Conference champion Dallas Baptist (Texas), Texas A&M-Commerce, OC, St. Mary’s (Texas), West Texas A&M, Arkansas-Fort Smith, Pacific West Conference champion Point Loma Nazarene (Calif.), Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference champion Westminster (Utah) and Great Northwest Athletic Conference champion Western Washington.

Individuals chosen for the field were Anahi Servin of Academy of Art (Calif.), Faith Kilgore of Colorado Christian, Juanita Gomez of Midwestern State (Texas) and Claire Shubin of Dominican (Calif.).


Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

Ken MacLeod

Publisher Golf Oklahoma | Oklahoma's No. 1 Golf Source