OCU Stars shoot 28-under to win U.C. Ferguson Classic at Lincoln Park

Like and Follow Golf Oklahoma

OKLAHOMA CITY – No. 1-ranked Oklahoma City University collected the win for the fifth consecutive year in the 46th U.C. Ferguson Classic on Wednesday at Lincoln Park Golf Course.

David Meyers paced four Stars among the top five individuals with his fourth career victory. OCU, top-ranked in NAIA men’s golf, captured the win by 22 strokes.

Meyers, a junior from Johannesburg, South Africa, finished three shots ahead of teammate Gaston Romero and five strokes in front of Oklahoma City’s Peri’Don Castille.

Carson Seals of OCU tied for fifth place. Jack Madden from the Stars ended knotted for 27th.

Defending national champion Oklahoma City went 28 strokes under par with its 272-274-278–824. Bellevue (Neb.) finished second with its 290-278-278–846, and Missouri Valley came in third at 284-282-288–854. Kyle Blaser reeled in his 115th career tournament win in his 23rd year as OCU coach.

Meyers shot a 66-68-68–202 to top the field. Meyers notched 15 birdies and made par 36 times.

Romero, a sophomore from Cordoba, Argentina, posted his finest career finish for OCU. Romero turned in a 66-69-70–205 and led the tournament with 19 birdies. Castille, a junior from Dallas, recorded a 71-67-69–207 while sinking 14 birdies.

Seals, a junior from Ardmore, Okla., put together a 69-70-71–210 and dropped in 14 birdies. Madden supplied the Stars with a 72-71-75–218. Niccolo Nespoli, a senior from Milan, Italy, carded an 81-77-72–230 playing as an individual.

The conditions for the tournament included temperatures that started in the 70s and reached the lower 80s. Rain fell during the first round Tuesday morning and intermittently during the day.

OCU plays in The Mid-South on Sept. 24-25 at Sand Creek Station Golf Course in Newton, Kan.


54 Holes
Individual scoring
Bruno Buccolo, Oklahoma Christian, 68-65-64–197, 2006; Sam Johnston, Oklahoma Christian, 63-69-65–197, 2012, Lincoln Golf Course
Team scoring
Bellevue (Neb.), 279-273-267–819, Lincoln Park Golf Course, 2012

1972—Jim Zimmerman, Oklahoma
1973—Shelley Houston, LSU
1974—Kirk Goss, Oklahoma State
1975—Randy Simmons, Texas
1976—Lindy Miller, Oklahoma State
1977—John Stark, Houston
1978—Rafael Alarcon, Oklahoma State
1979—Mark Tinder, Oral Roberts
1980—Joe Rassett, Oral Roberts
1981—Tracy Phillips, Oklahoma State
1982—Andy Dillard, Oklahoma State
1983—Andy Dillard, Oklahoma State
1984—Cliff Pierce, Oklahoma
1985—Kevin Baldwin, Oklahoma City
1986—Brian McGreevy, Kansas
1987—Curtis Wangrud, Central Oklahoma
1988—Jason Lamb, Texas Lutheran
1989—Jason Lamb, Texas Lutheran
1990—Cam Beckman, Texas Lutheran
1991—Brian Sloan, Oklahoma City
1992—Lynn Johnson, Cameron
1993—Travis Deibert, Odessa (Texas)
1994—Corey Smith, Southwestern Oklahoma State
1995—Jeff Lamp, Texas Lutheran
1996—Jason Jeter, Cameron
1997—Nick Hughes, Oklahoma City
1998—Richard Guzzo, Oklahoma Christian
1999—Dustin Semsch, Central Oklahoma
2000—Jamie McCleary, Odessa (Texas)
2001—Yasin Ali, Austin Morris (Texas)
2002—Diego Fernandez, Oklahoma Christian
2003—Andreas Rydholm, Oklahoma City
2004—Garrard Weston, Oklahoma City
2005—Boris Bruckert, Berry (Ga.)
2006—Bruno Buccolo, Oklahoma Christian
2007—Clay Parks, Oklahoma City
2008—Anthony Michael, Oklahoma City-x
2010 (spring)—Michael Palmer, Oklahoma City
2010 (fall)—Clark Collier, Oklahoma City
2012—Sam Johnston, Oklahoma Christian
2013—Cody Taylor, Oklahoma
2014—Anthony Marchesani, Jamie Warman, Oklahoma City-y
2015—Adam Blomme, Odessa (Texas)
2016—Matthew Cheung, Oklahoma City
2017—Rupert Kaminski, Oklahoma City

2018—David Meyers, Oklahoma City

x-won on fifth playoff hole; y-co-champions

1972—Oklahoma State
1974—Oklahoma State
1978—Oklahoma State
1979—Oklahoma State
1980—Oral Roberts
1981—Oklahoma State
1982—Oklahoma State
1986—North Texas
1987—Iowa State
1988—Oklahoma City
1989—Texas Lutheran
1990—Texas Wesleyan
1991—Texas Lutheran
1992—Texas Lutheran
1993—Odessa (Texas)
1994—Odessa (Texas)
1995—Texas Lutheran
1996—Central Oklahoma
1997—Oklahoma City
1999—Southwestern Oklahoma State
2000—Odessa (Texas)
2001—Oklahoma City
2002—Northwood (Texas)
2003—Oklahoma City
2004—Oklahoma City
2005—Berry (Ga.)
2006—Oklahoma City-x
2007—Oklahoma City
2008—Oklahoma City
2010 (spring)—Oklahoma City
2010 (fall)—Oklahoma City
2012—Bellevue (Neb.)
2013—Wayland Baptist (Texas)
2014—Oklahoma City
2015—Oklahoma City
2016—Oklahoma City
2017—Oklahoma City
2018—Oklahoma City

x-won on third playoff hole

Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

Ken MacLeod

Publisher Golf Oklahoma | Oklahoma's No. 1 Golf Source