OCU’s Kaminski receives third honor on all-Nicklaus Team

Like and Follow Golf Oklahoma

NORMAN, Okla. – Rupert Kaminski of national champion Oklahoma City University snared his third all-Nicklaus acclaim as selected by the Golf Coaches Association of America.

Matthew Wolff and Viktor Hovland of Oklahoma State were also named to the team.

Kaminski, a junior from Johannesburg, South Africa, became OCU’s first three-time all-Nicklaus honoree. The all-Nicklaus team recognizes the top players from Divisions I, II, III, NAIA and NJCAA for their outstanding play this season.

In 2017-18, Kaminski forged a 70.81 stroke average, 127 birdies, seven eagles, 21 par or better rounds, seven top-five finishes and two individual titles in 32 rounds. In the NAIA Championships, Kaminski tied for the tournament lead with 19 birdies on his way to a top-six finish and his third all-tournament nod, shooting a 70-72-66-74–282 to equal the Stars’ best 72-hole tournament score. Kaminski eclipsed Tyrone Van Aswegen’s OCU record for career wins with his eighth victory after turning in a 69-66-66–201 on Sept. 12, 2017 in the U.C. Ferguson Classic.

The all-Nicklaus Team was created in 2008 and is not only named for history’s greatest player, but also a long-time supporter of collegiate and amateur golf. Jack Nicklaus, a Big Ten and NCAA champion at The Ohio State University, helped inspire and create the Jack Nicklaus Award in 1988 and it is now presented to the national player of the year in NCAA Divisions I, II and III, as well as NAIA and NJCAA. Award recipients have combined for over 200 victories worldwide and claimed 23 major championships.

Oklahoma City took its 11th men’s golf national championship in the NAIA Championships on May 15-18 at TPC Deere Run. The Stars have won national championships in 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2010, 2012, 2013, 2016 and 2018.

2018 All-Nicklaus Team presented by Barbasol

Shintaro Ban, UNLV
Chandler Blanchet, West Florida
Callum Bruce, Midland College
Leon D’Souza, South Mountain
Doug Ghim, Texas
Josh Gibson, Hope
Nick Hardy, Illinois
Sam Hill, UT Tyler
Viktor Hovland, Oklahoma State
Theo Humphrey, Vanderbilt
Isaiah Jackson, Meridian
Rupert Kaminski, Oklahoma City
SM Lee, Dalton State
Rowan Lester, Texas Wesleyan
Collin Morikawa, California
Brian Peccie, Washington & Lee
Chandler Phillips, Texas A&M
Julien Sale, Indian Hills
Alex Scott, Grand Valley State
Justin Suh, Southern California
John VanDerLaan, Florida Southern
Andrew Williamson, Wayland Baptist
Matthew Wolff, Oklahoma State
Norman Xiong, Oregon


Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

Ken MacLeod

Publisher Golf Oklahoma | Oklahoma's No. 1 Golf Source