OCU’s Cox to be first female golfer in NAIA Hall of Fame

Like and Follow Golf Oklahoma

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Oklahoma City University alumna Sydney Cox, who captured the 2009 NAIA women’s golf individual championship, will join the NAIA Hall of Fame.

Cox collected three NAIA all-American honors while contributing to four national championship teams for the Stars from 2005-09. She will become the first women’s golfer in the NAIA Hall of Fame.

During her OCU career, Cox became a two-time NAIA Championships all-tournament performer, three-time all-Sooner Athletic Conference, two-time all-NAIA Region VI golfer and two-time NAIA scholar-athlete award winner.

Cox posted a 78.03 scoring average with four tournament victories, including the win in her college debut in the Southern Nazarene Invitational on Sept. 18-19, 2005 at Rose Creek Golf Club in Edmond, Okla. Cox capped her college career with a 76.19 stroke average in 26 rounds as a senior in 2008-09. She is tied for the career record with four eagles.

“I couldn’t be more excited, honored and blessed to be inducted into the NAIA Hall of Fame,” Cox said. “I am beyond words. This means the absolute world to my career and myself.”

Cox took the NAIA individual crown by three shots over her OCU teammate and 2006 individual national champion Ashley Sholer in the NAIA Championships on May 12-15, 2009 at Meadowbrook Golf Course in Rapid City, S.D. Cox finished 11 strokes in front of the 2008 individual national champ Shanna Page from Bethel (Ind.). Cox turned in the winning score of 77-73-73-74–297 while nailing 10 birdies that week.

As a sophomore, Cox earned all-tournament acclaim in the NAIA Championships with an eighth-place finish. Cox helped the Stars win four SAC titles and two regional crowns with two third-place finishes and a fourth-place showing in the SAC Championships and NAIA Region VI Championships.

“This is such a well-deserved award for Sydney,” said M.J. Desbiens-Shaw, the OCU coach from 2007-10. “She was by far one of my favorite student-athletes. She had the desire and resilience to get better every day, not only on the golf course, but in the classroom and as a person. Sydney is every coach’s dream. She is a hard-working person with an incredible dedication to the game. She showed perseverance and character during her college career, but I always knew she could make this dream happen for her. She is an inspiration to us all.”

Cox continues to compete professionally. Cox advanced past the first stage of LPGA Qualifying School in August and will play in the second stage Oct. 13-18 at Plantation Golf and Country Club in Venice, Fla. Cox picked up her first pro win in the Prairie Band Topeka Championship on the Women’s All Pro Tour on June 13-15 at Firekeeper Golf Course in Mayetta, Kan. She maintains status on the Symetra Tour, Suncoast Series Tour, CN Canadian Women’s Tour and Australian Tour.

From Edmond, Okla., Cox became a 2010 inductee into the Edmond Junior Golf Hall of Fame. Cox took regional and Mid-State Conference tournament titles as well as two Oklahoman all-city and four all-Edmond nods during her high school career at Edmond Memorial.

Hall of Fame inductees are set to be recognized throughout the year at their respective NAIA National Championships, national coaches’ association meetings or at the 77th NAIA National Convention. The NAIA Championships will take place May 14-17, 2019 at Lincoln Park Golf Course in Oklahoma City.

“Golf is my love and my passion,” Cox said. “I gave so much to Oklahoma City University, and I couldn’t be prouder to represent not only my alma mater, but women’s golf as a whole.”

Oklahoma City has captured eight national championships in women’s golf in 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2013, 2014 and 2017.


NAIA Hall of Fame Inductees
Oklahoma City University
Name, Sport, Category, Induction year

Kyle Blaser, men’s golf, coach, 2012-13

Sydney Cox, women’s golf, athlete, 2018-19
Denney Crabaugh, baseball, coach, 2006-07
Brian Harvey, men’s and women’s soccer, coach, 2009-10
Ted Ledbetter, baseball, athlete, 2012-13
Keith Lytle, baseball, meritorious service, 2013-14
Jeff Maack, baseball, athlete, 2010-11
Jeff McLaughlin, baseball, athlete, 2017-18
Phil McSpadden, softball, coach, 2007-08
Freddy Sanchez, baseball, meritorious service, 2011-12
Chris Schroder, baseball, athlete, 2013-14
Tyrone Van Aswegen, men’s golf, athlete, 2015-16

Kesha Watson, women’s basketball, athlete, 2018-19
2018-19 NAIA Hall of Fame Inductees
Name, Affliation, Sport, Category

Paul Chapman, Dickinson State (N.D.), football, athlete

Dr. James Coleman, Tougaloo (Miss.), meritorious service

Sydney Cox, Oklahoma City, women’s golf, athlete

Kim Elders, Cornerstone (Mich.), men’s basketball, coach

Rory Farstveet, Dickinson State (N.D.), football, athlete

Bruce Parker, Rocky Mountain (Mont.), meritorious service

Deb Remmerde-Leusink, Northwestern (Iowa), women’s basketball, athlete

Lynn Scott, Northwestern Oklahoma State, football, athlete

Mike Van Diest, Carroll (Mont.), football, coach

Scott Walkinshaw, Black Hills State (S.D.), men’s & women’s cross country/track & field, coach

Kesha Watson, Oklahoma City, women’s basketball, athlete


Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

Ken MacLeod

Publisher Golf Oklahoma | Oklahoma's No. 1 Golf Source