ORU off to shaky start in Summit League Championship

Like and Follow Golf Oklahoma

Event: Summit League Men’s Golf Championship
 Sand Creek Station GC / Newton, Kan.
Full Results: Summit League Championship – Round 1 Results

NEWTON, Kan. – The Oral Roberts men’s golf team finished round one of the 2018 Summit League Men’s Championship at 306 and in seventh place overall. Denver leads the team race at 294 with 36 holes to play.

Cody Burrows and Mike Biata, both named to the All-Summit League team before the tournament, struggled with rounds of 77 and 82, respectively, contributing to the disappointing first round. Josh Montgomery led ORU with a 74. ORU would need to win the Summit League to be invited to an NCAA regional.

ORU Individual Results
T9 – Josh Montgomery – 74
T20 – Jackson Howes – 76
T22 – Cody Burrows -77
T30 – Dustin Hasley – 79
T38 – Mike Biata – 82

Team Results
1 – Denver – 294
2 – North Dakota State – 296
3 – Western Illinois – 298
4 – Fort Wayne – 299
5 – South Dakota – 302
6 – Omaha – 305
7 – ORU – 306
8 – South Dakota State – 308

Up Next
The second of three rounds will begin Monday morning with ORU and SDSU teeing off between 8 a.m. and 8:40 a.m. Live results can be found at GolfStat.com.

Burrows, Biata make All-Summit League first team

Oral Roberts men’s golfers Mike Biata and Cody Burrows were both named to the All-Summit League First Team, it was announced Saturday evening. The duo marked the first time since 2009 in which the Golden Eagles have had two first team All-Summit League selections.

Biata averaged 73.31 strokes per round this season and was under par in two of the final four tournaments of the regular season. He owns the best tournament finish by a Golden Eagle this season shooting -4, 212 to finish tied for fifth overall at the Bubba Barnett Intercollegiate.

Burrows earned a spot on the first team for the third straight year after ending the regular season under par in three of the last four tournaments. He has the second-best scoring average in the league at 72.54. Burrows holds the lowest single round of the season with a 66 in the second round of the Bubba Barnett Intercollegiate April 2.

2017-18 Men’s Golf All-League
First Team
Mike Biata (ORU)
Cody Burrows (ORU)
Andrew Israelson (NDSU)
Chris Korte (DU)
Tom Vining (USD)

Second Team
Van Holmgren (NDSU)
Jake Kelley (DU)
Nick Myhre (NDSU)
Matt Tolan (USD)
Jackson Wetherbee (WIU)


Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

Ken MacLeod

Publisher Golf Oklahoma | Oklahoma's No. 1 Golf Source