Rigsby makes All-Heartland team for second straight year

Like and Follow Golf Oklahoma

Photo:  OC sophomore Abigail Rigsby is an All-Heartland Conference pick for the second straight season.

WACO, Texas (May 1, 2018) – For the second straight year, Oklahoma Christian golfer Abigail Rigsby is an All-Heartland Conference second-team selection.

The league announced its honor teams on Tuesday, and Rigsby, a sophomore from Courtenay, British Columbia, earned one of the 10 spots in one of the most competitive women’s golf conferences in NCAA Division II.

Rigsby posted a stroke average of 75.1 over 20 rounds this season, which ranks ninth among Heartland players, and her adjusted scoring average of 74.90 ranks her 44th in Division II. Before suffering a season-ending injury, Rigsby recorded three straight top-three individual finishes, including her first career win in the Midwestern State Invitational at Wichita Falls Country Club in Wichita Falls, Texas, in March.

She had five top-five finishes during the 2017-18 season and has 12 top-10 finishes in 21 career events. One of those came in last year’s Division II West Super Regional (also in Wichita Falls), which qualified her for the Division II Championship tournament.

“Abi had a great year, including her first college win,” OC coach Greg Lynn said. “She works so hard in the gym and on the course and in the classroom. She is an exemplary student-athlete in every regard. We are so pleased she was recognized on the All-Heartland teams.”

OC has placed at least one player on the All-Heartland teams in each year since joining the conference in 2013.

Player – School – Year – Hometown
Evelyn Arguelles, Dallas Baptist, Sophomore, Oaxtepec, Mexico
Ann Parmerter, Dallas Baptist, Junior, Austin, Texas
Maria Regina Gonzalez, St. Mary’s, Junior, San Miguel, Mexico
Johany Rivera, St. Edward’s, Senior, Spring Branch, Texas
Addison Mitchell, Dallas Baptist, Sophomore, Fort Smith, Ark.

Player – School – Year – Hometown
Kelly Contreras, St. Mary’s, Senior, San Antonio, Texas
Jess Whitting, Rogers State, Freshman, Perth, Australia
Abigail Rigsby, Oklahoma Christian, Sophomore, Courtenay, British Columbia
Hanna Harrison, Dallas Baptist, Sophomore, Plano, Texas
Imkeleen Meyer, Newman, Senior, Despatch, South Africa

Player of the Year: Evelyn Arguelles, Dallas Baptist
Freshman of the Year: Jess Whitting, Rogers State
Coach of the Year: Kenny Trapp, Dallas Baptist


Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )