Surging Cowboys seek conference title 57, Sooners look to go out on top with third consecutive

Like and Follow Golf Oklahoma

Oklahoma State in on a roll entering the Big 12 Championship today through Wednesday at Whispering Pines (Par 72 · 7,434 Yards) in Trinity, Texas. The Oklahoma Sooners, meanwhile, look to put aside a so-so spring season with their third consecutive conference championship in their final year before transferring to the Southeastern Conference.

• Video: Big 12 Now on ESPN+ (Championship Round only)

• Live Stats:

Overall, the Cowboys have won 56 league titles and have produced 48 individual champions since the program’s first season in 1947. The Cowboys are coming off their best finish of the season, a runner-up showing at the Thunderbird Collegiate. OSU has three top-three finishes in its last four outings.

The Cowboys will be the tournament’s No. 4 seed and will be grouped with fifth-seeded Baylor and No. 6 BYU. The three teams will get their first round underway at 7:30 a.m. (CST)  on the 10th tee on Monday. For the afternoon session, the trio will begin play at 1:00 p.m. on No. 1.

• The tournament will consist of 72 holes with 36 being played on Monday followed by 18-hole days on Tuesday and Wednesday. Pairings for the second day of play will be based on the 36-hole totals from Monday’s action. The final day’s pairings will be based on the 54-hole team totals with the leaders teeing off last.

The Cowboys have 11 Big 12 crowns to their credit. OSU won three of the first four tournaments, finishing atop the leaderboard in 1997, 1998 and 2000. The Cowboys’ next league title came in 2005 before reeling off five-straight victories from 2007-2011. OSU claimed No. 10 in 2019 in the first-ever Big 12 Championship contested at The Greenbrier before repeating in 2021 with a one-shot victory at Prairie Dunes.

In addition to its 56 overall conference titles, OSU has 11 runner-up finishes, three third-place showings, a pair of fourth-place finishes, three fifth-place finishes and has finished sixth once. OSU has produced the event’s individual medalist on 10 occasions with Leif Westerberg (1997), Charles Howell (2000), Anders Hultman (2002), Hunter Mahan (2003), Pablo Martin (2007), Rickie Fowler (2008), Morgan Hoffmann (2009, 2011), Stratton Nolen (2016) and Kristoffer Ventura (2018) all taking top honors.

On four occasions in Big 12 play, the Cowboys have produced the medalist and runner-up with Charles Howell and Edward Loar going 1-2 in 2000 followed by Pablo Martin and Ryan Posey in 2007, Rickie Fowler and Kevin Tway in 2008 and Morgan Hoffmann and Tway in 2011.

Whispering Pines first hosted the event in 2005 with the Cowboys posting a nine-shot victory. The championship returned to the layout in 2008 with OSU rolling to a 20-stroke triumph highlighted by Rickie Fowler’s four-stroke win over teammate Kevin Tway in the individual race. The Cowboys made it three in a row with their win in 2010, finishing 13 shots clear of the field.

Oklahoma seeks its third straight Big 12 title, and 20th overall conference championship.

The Sooners won the 2022 Big 12 title at the course and then repeated as champions last season at Prairie Dunes Country Club.

Oklahoma hasn’t won three consecutive conference crowns since 1955-57. The 14-team field features three ranked teams, including No. 14 Oklahoma, who will be paired with No. 12 Texas and No. 17 Texas one day one. The 2024 championship marks the first in the Big 12 with 14 teams, and will be OU’s last as it moves to the Southeastern Conference on July 1.

Oklahoma’s lineup card features Drew Goodman, Ben Lorenz, Jase Summy, Ryder Cowan and Stephen Campbell Jr. Luke Kluver is Oklahoma’s substitute.

The Sooners tee off on Monday with the Red Raiders and Longhorns at 7:30 a.m. CT. The leaderboard will determine pairings for the third and final rounds.


Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

Ken MacLeod

Publisher Golf Oklahoma | Oklahoma's No. 1 Golf Source