SWOSU, RSU, NSU, UCO set for Division II Regional at Hillcrest CC

Like and Follow Golf Oklahoma

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – Southwestern Oklahoma State University, host Rogers State, Northeastern State University and Central Oklahoma will all compete in an NCAA Division II Regional Monday and Tuesday at Hillcrest Country Club in Bartlesville.

SWOSU drew the No. 3 seed behind Henderson State and Central Missouri. Rogers State is the fourth seed, NSU sixth and UCO eighth.

All participants will compete through the 54 holes over three days of competition. The top three Central Region teams along with the top two individuals not on an advancing team will advance to the championships held May 21-25 at Orange County National Golf Center in Orlando, Florida.

SWOSU Women’s Golf missed the regional tournament for the first time in 10 years last season. The last time they were in the Central Regional, they finished sixth. The Lady Bulldogs have advanced to the NCAA Division II National Championship on two occasions, 2014 and 2019. The Lady Bulldogs currently have two golfers ranked inside the top-8 in the region with Megan Brown sixth and Drew Dodgion eighth. Both were First Team All-GAC selections this season.

Rogers State earned its fourth-straight postseason berth. The Hillcats are one of four MIAA teams to qualify for the regional. They will be joined by Central Missouri (who earned the MIAA automatic qualifier by winning the MIAA Championship), Central Oklahoma, and Northeastern State.

RSU finished second at the MIAA Championships for the second-straight year last week. This matched their best finish in the tournament with a card of 916 (+52) over the three rounds. In total, RSU had two individuals finish in the top 10 with Marelda Ayal leading the way with All-Tournament team honors after finishing in a three-way tie for third while shooting 225 (+9). Lydia Sitorus finished in a three-way tie for seventh with a card of 228 (+12).

Northeastern State earned its 14th consecutive qualification into the NCAA postseason, with the 48-team postseason field being set Monday. It is the 22nd time a Scott Varner-coached women’s team at NSU has qualified for post-season play.

UCO played in 10 tournaments this season and has a 309.2 scoring average per round. The Bronchos finished a season-best third at Southern Nazarene’s tournament in Edmond this spring. UCO is coming off a seventh-place finish in the MIAA Championships.

The Bronchos played in Bartlesville this fall in the Regional Preview. UCO finished sixth in that event.

1. Henderson State [Great American Conference] 2. Central Missouri [Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association] 3. Southwestern Oklahoma
4. Rogers State
5. Augustana (South Dakota) [Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference] 6. Northeastern State
7. Minnesota State – Mankato
8. Central Oklahoma
9. Harding

1. Morgan Brasser, Fort Hays State
2. Juliana Botero, Nebraska-Kearney
3. Morgan Becker, Oklahoma Baptist
4. Ellen Spigner, Arkansas Tech
5. Paige Hoffman, Northwest Missouri
6. Carly Moon, Winona

Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

Ken MacLeod

Publisher Golf Oklahoma | Oklahoma's No. 1 Golf Source