Three Cowboys, OU’s Dalke are semifinalists for Jack Nicklaus Award

Like and Follow Golf Oklahoma

Photo: Zach Bauchou, Viktor Hovland and Matthew Wolff.

Three members of the Oklahoma State men’s golf team were named semifinalists for the 2018 Division I Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award it was announced on Tuesday by the Golf Coaches Association of America with Zach Bauchou, Viktor Hovland and Matthew Wolff all receiving the distinction. Brad Dalke of the University of Oklahoma Sooners is also on the list.

Hovland and Wolff currently stand in the top 10 in the Golfweek/Sagarin Rankings, checking in at Nos. 5 and 6, respectively. Bauchou is currently ranked 16th.

A sophomore for the Cowboys, Hovland has six top-five finishes on the year, including a victory at the Valspar Collegiate. He also has a pair of runner-ups to his credit.

Wolff has tallied five top fives during his freshman year. In addition to three runner-ups he most recently finished fifth at the Big 12 Championship.

Bauchou has tallied four top-five showings during his junior campaign. Among those finishes are a trio of fourth-place outings.

The finalists for the award will be named May 24 with the recipients being announced on May 31. The honor will be presented by Jack Nicklaus at a ceremony during the final round of the Memorial Tournament at Muirfield Village Golf Club.

In addition to receiving the Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award, the five recipients will compete in the Barbasol Shootout for an exemption into the PGA Tour’s Barbasol Championship, which is held July 16-22 at the Champions at Keene Trace in Lexington, Kentucky. The Barbasol Shootout will be held June 2 at the storied Scioto Country Club in Columbus, Ohio, the same club where Nicklaus first learned the game of golf as a young boy.

Division I Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award presented by Barbasol Semifinalists
Dawson Armstrong, Lipscomb
Shintaro Ban, UNLV
Zach Bauchou, Oklahoma State
George Cunningham, Arizona
Brad Dalke, Oklahoma
Steven Fisk, Georgia Southern
Stephen Franken, NC State
Luis Gagne, LSU
Doug Ghim, Texas
Will Gordon, Vanderbilt
Nick Hardy, Illinois
Lee Hodges, Alabama
Ian Holt, Kent State
Viktor Hovland, Oklahoma State
Theo Humphrey, Vanderbilt
Brandon Mancheno, Auburn
Garrett May, Baylor
Stefano Mazzoli, TCU
Dylan Meyer, Illinois
Collin Morikawa, California
Kyle Mueller, Michigan
Fredrik Nilehn, Texas Tech
John Pak, Florida State
Chandler Phillips, Texas A&M
Davis Riley, Alabama
Lorenzo Scalise, Tennessee
Justin Suh, Southern California
Braden Thornberry, Ole Miss
Matthew Wolff, Oklahoma State
Norman Xiong, Oregon

Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

Ken MacLeod

Publisher Golf Oklahoma | Oklahoma's No. 1 Golf Source