Whitsett, Elder exempt for Wichita Web.Com stop

Like and Share this post

WICHITA, Kan. – Cory Whitsett, a recent graduate from the University of Alabama, will be making his pro-debut at the Air Capital Classic, while Brad Elder and Kyle Thompson received the final two exemptions for the Air Capital Classic presented by Aetna, tournament director Roy Turner announced today.

Whitsett was a member of the Alabama men’s golf team, which recently won the NCAA Championship at Prairie Dunes Country Club in Hutchinson, Kan., for the second year in a row. The Houston, Texas native also qualified for this week’s U.S. Open at Pinehurst where he will be competing as an amateur. Whitsett was the 2013 SEC Player of the Year, selected to the United States 2013 Walker Cup team, member of the victorious 2013 Palmer Cup squad, ranked No. 1 in Golf World’s 2013-14 preseason top 50 watch list and was recently named to the 2014 Capital One Academic All-America At-Large Team.

Elder, the 2007 Air Capital Classic champion, finished in a tie for 28th in last year’s event and made the cut in seven of 13 Web.com Tour starts in 2013. The Tulsa, Okla., native finished 89th on the money list last year. The Air Capital Classic will be his first tournament start this year.

Thompson was a runner-up in the Air Capital Classic in 2011 to tournament champion Mathew Goggin and has played in six events so far on the Web.com Tour this season. The Panama City, Fla., native is a 10-year Web.com Tour veteran with three wins and eight second- place finishes in his career.

The Air Capital Classic will be well represented at the U.S. Open at Pinehurst, which will kick off Thursday, June 12. A total of 53 alums are among the field, including:

Steven Alker    2002-06, 10-12
Jonas Blixt    2010-11
Keegan Bradley    2010
Roberto Castro    2010-11
Alex Cejka    2013
Stewart Cink    1996
Chad Collins    2006-09, 12-13
Erik Compton    2004-07, 11
Donald Constable    2013
Jason Day    2007
Jason Dufner    2001-02, 05-06
Ken Duke    2003-06, 10-11
Matt Every    2008-09, 11
Jim Furyk    1993
Bobby Gates    2010
Lucas Glover    2002-03
David Gossett    2001, 08, 13
Bill Haas    2005
Russell Henley    2012
Billy Hurley III    2011, 13
Zach Johnson    2000, 03
Matt Jones    2002, 04-07
Chris Kirk    2009-10
Kevin Kisner    2010, 13
Matt Kuchar    2006
Garth Mulroy    2007, 09
Joe Ogilvie    1998, 03
Rob Oppenheim    2007, 10-13
Ryan Palmer    2003
Rod Pampling    1997, 2000-01
D.A. Points    2001, 03, 07-08
Aron Price    2006-08, 12, 13
Fran Quinn    1991, 99-2000, 02-07, 09, 13
Clayton Rask    2011
Jim Renner    2012
Brandt Snedeker    2006
Brett Stegmaier    2013
Steve Stricker    1991
Brian Stuard    2008-09, 11-12
Kevin Sutherland    1991-92, 95
Hudson Swafford    2012-13
Chris Thompson    2007-08, 13
Brendon Todd    2008, 11
David Toms    1990-91, 95
Kevin Tway    2012
Bo Van Pelt    2000-01, 03
Jimmy Walker    2002-04, 07

Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

Ken MacLeod

Publisher Golf Oklahoma | Oklahoma's No. 1 Golf Source

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.