Wolff adds Fred Haskins Award to trophy chest

Like and Follow Golf Oklahoma

ORLANDO — Oklahoma State’s Matthew Wolff added to his impressive collection of hardware after being named the recipient of the 2019 Fred Haskins Award as the nation’s most outstanding male collegiate golfer it was announced tonight on Golf Channel’s Golf Central.

The eighth Cowboy to receive the honor, Wolff was one of three finalists for the award in addition to junior teammate Viktor Hovland and Georgia Southern’s Steven Fisk. The Agoura Hills, Calif., native joins Lindy Miller (1978), Bob Tway (1981), Willie Wood (1982), Scott Verplank (1986), Charles Howell (2000), Hunter Mahan (2003) and Pablo Martin (2006) as winners of the prestigious award.

This past week, Wolff was named the winner of the Jack Nicklaus Award as the nation’s top player as well. With his two honors and Hovland laying claim to the Ben Hogan Award last month, it marks the first time the program has swept the national player of the year awards since Hunter Mahan did so in 2003.

During his sophomore campaign, Wolff opened the year with four consecutive full-field victories and finished with six wins overall, both school records. He capped the 2018-19 season with his triumph at the NCAA Championship to become the ninth Cowboy to capture the individual national championship. Additionally, he finished the year with a school-best stroke average of 68.69 after carding 21 rounds in the 60s.

Wolff opened the year with his first career victory at The Carmel Cup at Pebble Beach before emerging victorious at the Olympia Fields/Fighting Illini Invitational. He closed out the fall with a win at the Royal Oaks Intercollegiate, sharing medalist honors with Hovland.

In OSU’s spring opener, Wolff claimed medalist honors at the Amer Ari Invitational before adding win No. 5 at the Valspar Collegiate in March. He capped his season with a five-shot NCAA Championship win at Blessings Golf Club in Fayetteville, Ark.

Upon being named the winner of this year’s award, Wolff will receive an exemption to compete in the PGA Tour’s 2019 Military Tribute Greenbrier Classic in September.

Since its formation in 1971, the Haskins Commission has been devoted to amateur golf and the presentation of the Haskins Award. This coveted trophy honors the year’s outstanding college golfer and the memory of Fred Haskins, an obscure club pro that spent his life nurturing and mentoring amateur golfers. The commission, based in Columbus, Ga., oversees the voting conducted among college golfers, coaches and golf media.
Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

Ken MacLeod

Publisher Golf Oklahoma | Oklahoma's No. 1 Golf Source