Darter is SCS Professional of Year; Fleming, Fuller to join Hall of Fame

Like and Follow Golf Oklahoma

Broken Arrow, OK – Dawn Darter, Sherwood, Arkansas, has been awarded The South Central PGA’s highest honor, The 2022 Golf Professional of the Year.  Darter, a PGA Member for more than 38 years, has served as the Head Golf Professional at The Greens at North Hills since 2010.  In 2019, Darter was selected as the first female Golf Professional of the Year in The South Central PGA.

Two Oklahoma professionals, Tim Fleming, director of golf at Oklahoma City Golf & Country Club and one of the most accomplished competitors in this history of the section, and the late Mark Fuller, who worked at a variety of top courses in Oklahoma before his passing in October of 2021, will be inducted into the South Central Section Hall of Fame.

Nick Sidorakis
Tom Jones

Nick Sidorakis, the general manager of Southern Hills Country Club which in 2022 hosted a very successful PGA Championship, will be given an honorary section membership. Tom Jones, President/COO at Oak Tree National and also chairman of the Oklahoma Golf Hall of Fame, will be honored as Section Executive of the Year.

Darter received her PGA membership in 1984 and has devoted her career to developing golfers and passing on the integrity of the game.  Her lead by example mentality is no more evident than her service to the section and game of golf.  Darter currently serves on the Section Board of Directors, Junior Golf Committee, is the Arkansas Chapter Director, a PGA Magazine Women Leaders representative and actively supports initiatives from the Section and National organization.  Dawn volunteers her time to serve several area high school golf programs, acts as a rule’s official for The Arkansas State Golf Association and has served as a regional junior golf director for The Arkansas Chapter of The South Central PGA for over 10 years.

The award winners will be recognized at the South Central PGA Special Awards Banquet, Monday February 21, 2023, at the Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center in Tulsa.

Golf Professional of the Year
Dawn Darter, The Greens at North Hills, Sherwood, AR

Hall of Fame Inductees
Tim Fleming, Oklahoma City Golf & Country Club, Nichols Hills, OK
Mark Fuller (1961-2021), Edmond, OK

Honorary South Central PGA Membership
Nick Sidorakis, Southern Hills Country Club, Tulsa OK

Teacher of the Year
Bruce Baxley, Searcy Country Club, Searcy, AR

Player Development Award
Trent Rommann, Crestview Country Club, Wichita, KS

Youth Player Development Award
Jett Johnson, Quail Creek Golf & Country Club, Oklahoma City, OK

Professional Development Award
Jim Young, Gaillardia Country Club, Oklahoma City, OK

Bill Strausbaugh Award
Mark Budler, The Club at Indian Springs, Broken Arrow, OK

Executive of the Year
Tom Jones, Oak Tree National, Edmond, OK

Patriot Award
Chris Tuohey, Sand Creek Station, Newton, KS

Private Merchandiser of the Year
Garrett Diel, Gaillardia Country Club, Oklahoma City, OK

Public Merchandiser of the Year
Tyler Woodward, Jimmie Austin OU Golf Club, Norman, OK

Resort Merchandiser of the year
Rob Yanovitch, Shangri-La Resort, Afton, OK

Assistant Golf Professional of the Year
Trent Rommann, Crestview Country Club, Wichita, KS

Leon Faucett Salesperson of the Year
Yoyo Rosario, Antigua/Lorente, Dallas, TX

Player of the Year
Austin Peters, The Territory Golf & Country Club, Duncan, OK

Senior Player of the Year
Jim Young, Gaillardia Country Club, Oklahoma City, OK

Super Senior Player of the Year
Vince Bizik, PGA Life Member

Assistant Player of the Year
Andre Tourinho, Broken Arrow Golf & Athletic, Broken Arrow, OK


Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

Ken MacLeod

Publisher Golf Oklahoma | Oklahoma's No. 1 Golf Source